You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dad, Can I Have a Tumblr?

in #parenting6 years ago

I think like @strayenglishman said. Get her a joint account on steemit, Keep her off of discord and steem chat, if able. This will allow for her to meet a few people on here, have a place to share her stuff, and maybe make a few bucks. There are a few teenagers on here, not very active in the parts and post I read, but it would show her what a few possibilities are. Facebook is a really messed up place from what I hear, and I do not really know about any of the other social accounts. But on steemit, she would need to think about what she is doing before posting, and it would be easy for you to see what she is doing.

Sort:  

I forgot about that danger; there are some very creepy people on Facebook that behave in a very predatory manner; whereas on Tumblr it would be probably be the alternate sexuality related stuff that might be classed as content that is too mature for young eyes. There’s also a need to educate both children and yourselves about online safety; many options such as Snapchat aren’t always so easy for parents to monitor and the peer pressure of playground can sometimes extend far beyond the school gates.

Peer pressure, even though High School was a long time ago for me, I still remember it. So many parental traps today. So hard to keep an eye on them. Right now I think the safest place for teens is steemit. Yes there is adult content, and it is not hard to see, but over all, the seeming predation is not so rampant on steemit as I have heard about it on other sites.

She has made it clear that she "wants nothing to do with Steemit," which is just as well. She would have a hard time finding peers here.

Yeah there are a few teens, but not to many.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64038.31
ETH 3137.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86