First offence....

in #parenting5 years ago


We've been lucky so far with our girls, they've not felt strongly the compulsion to draw on the walls. Our oldest did a tiny little bit on a door in the past, and then never again... unfortunately, it was also in marker pen... so it took a little bit of effort to get off!

Anyway, the youngest one did her first piece of wall art this morning in orange crayon... hopefully it will be the last! After all, it was her first offence... so there is some leniency involved for the first infraction. Plus, she did go and point out where she had also drawn on the floor (which was lino, so that came off really easily!).


My first attempt at just scrubbing with water ended up smearing it a bit... so not a great solution. However, it did come better each time after letting it dry a bit and then scrubbing again.


However, too much scrubbing did mean that I was taking off more plaster than crayon! It's not a disaster, but perhaps I should have turned to Google before starting on the problem... Anyway, it turns out there is a whole host of suggestions that people recommend for it... Someone suggests WD-40... and another person suggests mayonnaise! Well, I'm not particularly keen to put oil on the wall, as I'm not sure if the oil might soak in or mess up the paint... and I'm sure as hell not putting mayonnaise on the wall!


In the end, someone suggested a damp cloth with a bit of baking soda... good old baking soda, it seems to appear in every cleaning solution! Anyway, it does the job and mainly reduces the amount of force I need to scrub, which means I'm not stripping the paint and plaster...

So, the child is on notice... second infringement means incarceration! We have a dark naughty corner with a spider that hasn't seen much action recently!



Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones





The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman



steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Yes hoooray for the baking soda i use that for so many things too. I did not know it excisted and now my household Cannot do without the orange packet

It's great stuff! My mum introduced me to it, and now... it is for cleaning everything!... I think you can also cook with it...

Yes you can and i know the friend who recommended it to me washes her hair with it........

Awwww i hope you made good pictures before you started cleaning it off.

A first 'banksy' could be worth a couple of coins in the future

:-D

LOL, I'm not sure I would want hordes of tourists in my house!

Yea, best introduce the kid to the outer walls of city hall and teach to spell BABYLON.
:-D

Hi there, at first it looked like I was up for some real nice drawing build up but then it brought me back to the artistic kid's reality. That tool seems pretty handy though, would love getting one, as we have some kids in the house who are equally artistic on the walls.

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Yep... artistic kids... I'm happier if they are expressive on paper...

That's true, this is how we know they are learning and are proactive.

Thank you for using CryptoSicko!

Well done and thank you for joining and supporting my subscription based upvoting bot that provides you with daily upvotes in exchange for your spare STEEM POWER.
Delegation links for CryptoSicko
100SP 250SP500SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.36
ETH 2909.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64