Pressure of Throwing Perfect Birthday Party !

in #parenting6 years ago (edited)

My daughter will be 4 next month and a party is in order .That's what society dictates. So just like any other Mom's out there, I also want to throw a Pinterest worthy party for her. I started looking for ideas on Pinterest. Even after spending hours on it, I couldn't decide on anything. In fact i felt overwhelmed. It felt like am failing my daughter somehow.

So I took a deep breath and started looking at her previous birthday pictures. Then I saw a picture of her her smiling face on her first birthday and realized am caring more about what a society that could care less about me thinks than am about her. It got me thinking about her first birthday celebrations image.

A month before her first birthday , we moved to Atlanta from California,US. I was disappointed because I have been planning her Big First birthday party in my mind since she was 6 months and we dnt really have any friends in Atlanta to celebrate with other than a few colleagues of my husband's colleagues. Our family is living in India.
On top of it we were staying in a hotel. So a big party was out of question. We still wanted to do something but didn't have a clue.

And the day before her first birthday, we went to a bakery to order a smash cake for her. They said they need more time than a day so we went to another one. We got lucky at the third because they already had one made. Then we went to partycity and bought some balloons and accessories. image image

We wanted to take some nice pictures so we decided to go to a park. I started the day by feeling a little sad for her but it turned out to be the best birthday celebration for her.She enjoyed the day by walking and running in the park and feeding the ducks and playing with the balloons. I can honestly say that it was the most happiest day in her life. Considering the extreme stranger anxiety she had at that time, it was the best way to celebrate her birthday image image.
Thankfully my husband @ashwinrajt take really good pictures and we didn't have to worry about hiring a photographer image image.

The reason I wanted to share my daughter's first bday is to remind you (and myself) that it doesn't matter how you celebrate your kids bday as long as you are there to celebrate with them.They will be happy no matter how big or small their party is.We should start thinking about the kids more than what the society thinks. There are some parents out there who throw amazing parties for their kids and you might feel pressure to do the same. (Am guilty of feeling it). The way we celebrate kids birthday parties are changed drastically. It appears its less about the kids and more about the parents. Lets not forget that the true meaning of birthday is to celebrate our amazing kids. image image
The only time she was not happy was this. She didnt care for the cake 😀 image

I would love to hear your stories and thoughts.

Thank you for reading!
Deeps

My Previous Blog
footer-deeps.png

Sort:  

She looks like beautiful happy little princess! She can be happy with parents like you, family is the best!

True that 👍. Thank you

This is the best post on Steemit. I gave you a vote now, ya heard?

Thank you so much for your kind words @eatsrewards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62726.22
ETH 2961.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60