You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Baby Sign Language Part Two

in #parenting6 years ago

Brocks niece was taught asl (she is 2 now) right from the start and its been incredible to see how she communicates and put signs together. It seems to reduce a lot of frustration because she can convey her needs and wants. We all (her parents, grandparents and uncle/auntie) both sign and talk with her and she has one or two friends the same age that also knows how to sign.
We plan on teaching mini elf as well because its such an advantage for her to have, being able to communicate with us

Sort:  

Welcome to this crazy beautiful place called Motherhood @elfmyselfandi! I have been thinking about you and mini Elf and wishing you both well.

Wow, 2 years old and signing with so many people, including other babies? That's incredible. But I have to say, seeing babies sign first hand is what sold me on the idea. Their skill and comprehension is undeniable. I haven't been able to do as much as I'd like because managing two is a handful but I am so glad we have done as much as we have.

So, how are you enjoying motherhood? If you ever need anything, any kind of support, just reach out ok?! I was showered with so much kindness and support when I transitioned into motherhood and it meant the world to me. I would be so happy to give you the same support I was blessed to have. -Aimee

Thank you <3 and sorry for the very late reply, inbetween sleeping, the chronic fatigue being intense and getting things done i somedays dont even know where my phone is :p

Yes, its quite something. When i first heard of teaching babies to sign i didnt think much of it, but seeing her use it before she could speak, how she was able to make us understand her needs and wants was incredible. And even now when she does speak she still uses sign as she speaks, sometimes to clearify when we dont understand her words. And if kept up she will have two languages right of.
I learned some of the swedish sign language in high school so im leaning towards teaching mini elf that as im talking swedish with her, and Brock will talk english and use the english sign language. But we'll see.

Thank you! My computer died on me but as soon as i get a new one ill install that program again and add you on the friends list :) it seems we have a lot of ideas on what we want for our kids in common, so having someone to talk to would be great :)

No worries on the delayed reply. As a busy mom, I can promise you never have to apologize to me for delayed responses. Sometimes I respond to people in my head and wonder why they don't acknowledge. Whoops!

Oh boy, I can't even imagine dealing with intense chronic fatigue at the same time as being thrust into motherhood. I feel like mother's instincts are so strong that we develop a kind of superhuman drive to care for our little ones. I have been navigating some challenges over the past year as well. Life might look messy and you may feel like you can't do it all but I believe that's because we weren't meant to raise families alone. Give yourself a huge part on the back every night because being a mom is ahard gig and it's easy to feel overwhelmed.

Wow! I love that you're going to use Swedish and Swedish sign in addition to English and ASL! Babies brains are so flexible and ready to absorb information. I hope you guys are successful. Whatgift you are giving mini elf!

Oooh! Dead computers are the worst! Don't feel obligated, but if a phone is more convenient for you, they have an app too. I agree! We seem very like-minded for raising babies. Feel free to reach out and connect any time! -Aimee

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63732.43
ETH 3135.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83