I Have Monster Feet, How About You?

in #parenting6 years ago (edited)

Day 1.jpg

Taking my spectrum girl to learn monster movement for the first time is quite challenging, not only me but also for my daughter too. It is seriously challenging because both of us don't really know what to expect! Moreover, the workshop is not under school where she used to go everyday. Its totally an alien thing!


How It Begins?

One of the visible autism symptom for every ASD children is having Restrictive and Repetitive Behavior (RRB) or fixated interest and my daughter is no exception! She too obsesses with few things and recently she has developed new interest that restricted to watching Disney Pixar's Monster University movie. She even ask her dad to purchase Monster University book activity during last school holiday from MPH book store. Luckily, there was a book sale in a nearby mall where we bought the book at discounted price. 😅

Therefore, in order to make her interest meaningful, I plan to bring her to one workshop, to learn about monster movement which carried out by homeschoolers group. It is a 2 days workshops which took place at Pusat Kreatif Kanak-kanak Tunku Bainun (PKKTB), Taman Tun Dr Ismail (TTDI). This workshop is in conjunction with a World Book Day event that is going to be celebrated at KLPAC on 22nd April 2018. Meaning they will do a performance on that day. This workshop is open for young children starting at the age of 3-8 years old. Yet it is not compulsory for the kids to join the performance.

wild rumpus.jpg

Image source


Meet up with Good Strangers!

"I don't want you to get hooked on the tv and watch monster movie all the time. Why not you learn how to be a scarer like Mike & Sulley in that movie. I believe it will give you so much fun!" That was my conversation with my spectrum girl to encourage her taking part into the workshops. To make her more understand about what I have planned to do with her is I showed her the fb post about "Where the Wild Things Are" inspired by 'Wild Rumpus'. Then, I mimic the monsters steps like stomping my legs (hahaha.. I believe you can imagining it already). She smile back to me and cover her eyes with both hands. I hope that means "Yes!". I elaborate more about what to expect, when it will be conducted and who will be the teachers and last but not least about meet up with new friends (although that is the least thing she would ever do). My objective here is simple, I want her to get benefits not only just watching the monster, but importantly learn-by-doing the monsters movement! I keep doing the introduction process over and over again until the workshop day!

The workshops were divided into 2 separate dates, Day 1 - 13th April and Day 2 - 20th April. The kids will be a guided by a fab choreographer who will help to perfect their monster movements! I am glad to meet Antonia so do my daughter, and Lorna as well as her team (they are all nice people and understand my daughter's condition because I found that I am not alone. There were also some of the kids who is special in their own way!) I am glad to meet them all and thank them for their warmest welcomed!


Tantrum? I Can Expect That!

Day 1

Before going to the workshop, I reminded her to bring along her Monster University's activity book because I knew, it will make her feel comfortable a bit. In the car, I kept talking about the workshop to get her informed. She seems okay in the car so far. When I reached at the parking area, she already started saying "I don't want" I replied to her saying, "It's okay, let see the monster first, then we can go home" Here, I should using short and brief sentence and apply 'First' and 'Then' approach. Yes, she did tolerate with me and walk till to the studio where the workshop took place. Once reached there, she started to show tantrum and it is no kidding, she starts cover her eyes and lying over the grass. Thankfully, she wasn't screaming, if she did, it will scares the other kids. Unexpectedly, Antonia and Lorna approached me and asked what is bothering her? I explained to them, I come here with my spectrum girl for the first time with expectation to introduce her with new things that have co-relation with her interest. They looked at me and said "Let us talk to her". One common symptom that most ASD child has is anxiety. It is hard to control sometime but it will fade away if we able to manage the situation positively. After comforting her for a few minutes she finally calmed. So I asked her again to join in the workshop because its fun and you will feel happy. I share below some pictures from my own gallery how my spectrum girl enjoying the workshop for the 1st time with mom-made monster feet!


Day 2.jpg


Day 2

Today is the final workshop before their performance day on the World Book Day event on 22nd April 2018. I feel excited to finish the monster movements with my daughter. I hope it's not only me who feel this way because I want my girl to benefits from it too! This time around, she seems able to tolerate with her new environment whenever she sees her 'teachers' - Antonia the choreographer. She likes her so much! She even hug and play with her ears 😂😂. I don't know exactly why she did that, but I sense that it is how she communicates with someone who she felt comfort with. When we've reached there, I saw some kids already wears their monster feet. It looks cute and I want my girl to wear one too! I saw few mothers busy cutting some colorful glitters' papers to make monster's shoes. So I took one piece of glitter blue paper and start making one pair of monster's feet for my daughter. After finished it, I show it to my daughter, hoping she will feel more excited to do the monster moves. With the excited face she smile and wear it along while doing the monster movements. She even keeps showing her new 'feet' to Lorna to let her know how she feels so happy to have those. The workshop went well and my daughter ends up feel more happier! 😄

Thank you for reading my post today! Keep steem on 4 good! Positive comments are most welcome! Resteem when you find this post is worth sharing!

Upvote Follow Resteem_2.gif

signature_2.gif

Sort:  

really look like so much fun...I would want my own monster feet too. looks cool.

Thank you for stopping by. Ooo... I can make you one for 1SBD... Wait... no laah.. I just kidding. I can make one for you FOC @parennial 😃. I found that all the kids are really enjoying this activity plus with the music background and playing with music instrumental too... I always support this kind of learning coz it is more engaging. Eveneven myself too join the ' little monsters' dancing just to show my support.

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Thanks for sharing.

Thank you for stopping by @metzli. It's a pleasure to share about my daughter 's activity just to inspire people. I want people to see that if we give the same opportunity like we did to a typical developed kid, they too can enjoy the same moment! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71297.37
ETH 3698.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75