You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A nerve racking moment! (A proud father!)

in #parenting5 years ago

Hey, @bengy.

Congratulations on your daughter's piano playing. Do they still call things like that a recital? Maybe that's too formal. Anyway, I'd say she's had a wonderful example to follow, and doubt your natural abilities and work ethic have either become a part of who she is, or have rubbed off on her.

I don't know that I have the equivalent experience, which is fine, since what I do is write and neither of my boys are interested in that. But i do remember, obviously, feeling good about them accomplishing different tasks or milestones that they worked hard on to achieve. It's part of being a parent, as you said.

Does she want to become a professional musician?

Sort:  

No, recitals they are still called! Although, not for kids normally... it puts them off! Every kid undergoes different tests of ability.... she's not so keen on testing her sporting ability!

Anyway, at the moment she is way too young to know what she wants to do... but from her parents, she probably has no idea what a real work life looks like!

It sounds like to me she has paths to choose from, including her own, which I think is good. There's still some time to be deciding all of that, and some of us keep searching for what we want to do well into our 40s and 50s. :)

re: real work

I'm hoping she doesn't have to know what a 'real work life' is. I mean, if you're talking 9 to 5 and being someone else's employee, I don't know. I find that all rather boring and unfulfilling myself, even if it can be stable and offer benefits.

In some cases, your brain has room to breathe and explore its limits, but not nearly as often as you're just the team playing cog on a wheel of corporate machinery. Dull, dull, dull, dull, dull. :)

I don't know... real work, sometimes I do crave the stability it offers! Even in an artistic life, you often still have to work in a team if you play in a larger group of musicians... I know that there are many musicians who turn jaded and dull from that as well!

There's definitely something to be said for stability, @bengy. I think we all want to achieve a comfortable amount of steady income. But even working for someone else doesn't always last forever. Things change there, too.

I guess there's a peace of mind to what extent it really exists, versus having the time to do the things you'd like to do and the resources to do it. Most of us seem to run into that problem all the time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63648.37
ETH 3125.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87