You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Raise Self-Reliant Children

in #parenting6 years ago

My 7 year old daughter makes hers and her sisters cereals in the morning, when I'm being too slow, like they can't wait 5 minutes and they love the fact that I tell them to make their own drinks. I do have to get them to tell me when they go in the kitchen and get something to eat, or let me know if things are getting low as I have given them this responsibility, as mine is to make sure that they do occassionally eat a proper meal too haha.

Sort:  

Haha, wait...cereal isn't proper?! ;) Breakfast is served at schools here, so they usually only have cereal on the weekends. But it's great that you are teaching your girls to notice when foods are running low. Little tasks like that help build their self-reliance for sure! My 7 year old loves to help make the grocery list before we go shopping, though there are usually some of his choices on there too...Ice cream, candy, etc :)

No cereal isn't that proper :( Too much starch and sugar.

I agree, which is a shame because it's so easy to make. But, my kids only get it on occasion.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69768.04
ETH 3884.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73