Ramblings | Perfectly Imperfect

in #parenting6 years ago (edited)

unnamed.gif

Everything in this house is electric, except for the condition of my soul.

The oven sparkles pure white, except for a few scratches that reveal ashen gray underneath the exterior. All sorts of cords hang out of this electric oven. I wish I could take one of the cords and plug it into my heart to jump start something within myself.

I water the outdoor plants to give myself a reprieve from all the electricity. I drop the watering jar over the fence as I reach for the hanging basket.

“Fvck it.”

Another reminder of my imperfection. I didn’t mean to drop my watering jar, nor did I mean to swear. The more imperfect I become, the more frustrated I become with myself.

As if swearing at myself will make me feel any better.

All of this imperfection weighs heavily on me. What is my imperfection compared to another person’s, and why do I think of it as so much worse? Perhaps it’s the striving that’s the sin. Perhaps the imperfection is the point. It’s the feeling of the weight of glory.

Somehow this imperfection is more electric and gratifying than anything humans can create. We are all guilty of nice, clean exteriors. Nothing can jump start us into action, not all the cords in the kitchen.

Perhaps the only thing that can jump start this soul is a simultaneous abhorrence and appreciation of each individual’s imperfection.

Gwark.

Thank you for reading!


Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

You got a 1.27% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @jpmkikoy!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Jeanne 🌈 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Powerful. I've just written my own ramblings today and decided to check out the tag.

I like your post for the pure nature of honest expression.

It is gratifying in the most solid state as you can get as an individual. "That's stupid! I know that"

As long as these moments aren't in front of a bus, we are learning ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63914.94
ETH 3312.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92