Some Thoughts on Fatherhood

in #parenting5 years ago

Untitled design-9.png

Today I got into bed with my son so that he would wake up with me next to him. As I got in bed I was flooded with feeling and emotion. Something about a sleeping child is deeply heart warming. The peace. The beauty. The sacred vulnerability. The reminder, here is life and life is precious. If you are a parent, you are reminded of the awesome task you have been given.

I love the picture above and what it communicates. Essentially we take our kids with us on a path. They are entrusted to us for us to lead.

I just want to share some thoughts that come to me as I reflect on things I consistently learn as a parent. Just thoughts without elaboration.

  1. Life is gift.
  2. Life is precious and to be celebrated.
  3. Parenting is a privilege.
  4. Parenting is a responsibility.
  5. Parenting reveals to me my weakness.
  6. Parenting reveals my vulnerability.
  7. I should honor my parents.
  8. I need God's grace to parent well.
  9. I must honor my wife in front of my son so that he learns to honor her, and how to treat women.
  10. Parenting takes intentionality.
  11. Fathers must protect their children. Physically, emotionally and spiritually.
  12. I want my son to have character and succeed in life.
  13. God has a plan for my son and wants to use him. I must tell him that often.
  14. I need to be a good example, no excuse.
  15. Family is a gift. Family is powerful. Family is special.
  16. Being a good Father means being involved.
  17. Cover your children with prayers of faith.
  18. A child receives strength from a stable home.
  19. My son is forgiving.
  20. I have a heavenly Father who has no parental flaws.

Parents: Educate your children. Enjoy your children. Encourage your children. Cherish your children. Celebrate your children.

Fathers: Love with a huge heart. Be firm with a gentle spirit. Train with grace. Instill faith and hope in your children. Provide. Protect. Be present. Make family a priority. Love and honor your wife. Kiss your wife and romance her in front of your kids. Raising your child is your call. Lastly.. you matter and are of massive significance in your child's life. You are not a dope. You are not an idiot. You are a strong influencer.

Blessings to your families.

Comments below appreciated. Especially if you were encouraged and want to share how you were helped.

Sort:  

Thats a really beautifully written and heartfelt post. Parenthood is one of life's most precious gifts.

thx! glad you enjoyed it

Thank you so much for sharing this amazing post with us!

Have you heard about Partiko? It’s a really convenient mobile app for Steem! With Partiko, you can easily see what’s going on in the Steem community, make posts and comments (no beneficiary cut forever!), and always stayed connected with your followers via push notification!

Partiko also rewards you with Partiko Points (3000 Partiko Point bonus when you first use it!), and Partiko Points can be converted into Steem tokens. You can earn Partiko Points easily by making posts and comments using Partiko.

We also noticed that your Steem Power is low. We will be very happy to delegate 15 Steem Power to you once you have made a post using Partiko! With more Steem Power, you can make more posts and comments, and earn more rewards!

If that all sounds interesting, you can:

Thank you so much for reading this message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62349.28
ETH 3026.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67