"FML, my toddler whines constantly!" - a video to make you think twice about being a stay-at-home mom and tips to avoid loosing your marbles.

in #parenting8 years ago
credit: thank you @guerrint for edits (you truly are a woman of many talents!) and to my daughter, Ezra for the constant complaining :)


If you're anything like me you'd agree, listening to a toddler whine has got to be in the top 5 list of torture techniques. In fact, I've heard the Army has exploited its power for interrogation purposes... Not sure the truth in that, but dare I say that knowing others find this type of behavior nauseating, sadly brings a little comfort?

It's as if some point in time, tots all over the world conspired this form of defense to break down even the most strong-willed parents, and my daughter was their ring leader! The quality of my days were determined by my tiny dictator whose willingness to do anything meant having peace or a hectic day of tantrums. She had me wrapped around her finger... I'd do anything (anyyyything!) to make her stop.

I created this compilation (with the help of my daughter and @guerrint) to give you a dramatic glimpse into our world before I regained control. Watch the video for a laugh (or cry) and read-on for tips to avoid locking yourself in your bathroom and having a meltdown of your own. :)



I am going to give you a little grace here... ALL parents have had to deal with tantrums. Sure, they may all be different variations of kicking; screaming; crying; and slomping, but they are all due to the inability to express their emotions, and thus they feel a lack of control.

With my daughter, the three tips below have helped me to overcome this stage in her toddlerhood. What has worked for you?

The Hunger & Fatigue Monster
No child is at their best when they are hungry or tired. Worse is that they do not understand what is making them feel so crappy. Often times, my daughter will meltdown for no apparent reason! A few weeks ago, I spent an hour trying to calm her down after being so agitated that I could not figure out how to make her chocolate milk with no milk. Oy vey...! Out of respect for my daughter (and my sanity), I realized that I needed to make her nap times more of a priority. My errands (and entire day frankly) are now scheduled around her mid-afternoon nap. It's a win for both of us... She gets a recharge and I get some me time.

Is it just me or does anyone else have a child that lives off snacks? My daughter will not sit for a meal, but is constantly snacking. I make sure everywhere I go I have a healthy snack on hand to curb her appetite.

Showing the Right Words to Use
This was the inspiration for this post... I started a few months ago recording all the times Ezra whined or complained. I've been playing them back to her and we practice using the correct words. You'll notice in this video, I ask her to "use your words. I usually repeat this phrase until she understands that I need her to help me help her.

Changing the Subject
Anytime I feel the brewing of a fit, I try to change the subject. "Ezra, your hair looks so beautiful!" or "(Gasp!) I love the way you colored this picture!" She instantly forgets why she was upset to begin with. Call it avoiding the situation, but it works like a charm!


What has helped you through this joyous time in toddlerhood?

Sort:  

We'll be here for ya!

I Decided To Follow You.
Steem On!
:))

Being a (good) mother is HARD.
Perhaps that's one reason we have Mother's Day to recognize how tough of a job it is.

I can empathize. It's a tough time to be a mother. On the other hand, if you do it right (and it seems that you are) you end up with a really good friend later on.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69236.16
ETH 3848.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66