Lesson of the Day - Calming the Anger Beast!

in #parenting6 years ago

I conquered my anger today!

It is so very easy to let thoughts and emotions validate anger. Not today! No. I refuse! My kids deserve to see a parent live with joy, hope and good will in spite of conflict.

Here's today's story:

For a few years now I've been struggling with coordinating with my two kids' mother. To say the least, she just sucks at life sometimes. I know she tries, but it is truly a challenge most especially because she just isn't a nice person. I try to remind myself that it's better for the kids now that she's come back into their lives after leaving for a year.

This was the plan today, a change in our routine she requested - I was to drop this kids off at 6:30 am and head in to work at 6:45 am. This morning I awoke to a text from her telling me I can drop the kids off with her (she doesn't drive) at 12 pm today. The text came in at 1:30 am. I still went at 6:30 am of course but no one was answering the door.

Calming the Anger Beast

I was obviously angry this morning; honestly furious. I decided to stop though. I took a step back out of my emotions and thoughts and acknowledged the fact that this is simply the state of the situation. I can either learn to live with this for the next 15 years or continue to be angry. Why be angry?

I didn't try to change how I saw the situation nor did I try to shift my attention to something that would make me feel better. In other words, no mind tricks! Simply, I chose to embrace the situation and accept it for what it is because my emotions are subsequent to my Intention . (I go into more detail about what I mean here in my post about the Law of Attraction)

I take full responsibility for my life and how I express who I am

I was able to take a deep breath and step out of the anger before it really started to spin the wheels of my thoughts and emotions. Then I embraced what I had to do.

We gathered blankets, coloring books, crayons, a table, chairs, my Chromebook and Legos. They were so excited to be going to work with me too! I feel so loved!

I'm here at with with my kids at work right now


Aside from the photo above, my kids, 4 and 5 have been moving in and out of extreme BOREDOM! BUT thanks to technology (AKA Netflix) they are mildly contented.

Well, back to work here at the Front Desk at my favorite Downtown Napa Hotel!

Have a beautiful day!


Other pieces of writing I've done:

Why Ink? - A Poem About Tattoos
A Poem for the Steemit Community
The Law of Attraction Broken Down Into 7 Steps

mqberry
Wishing you the best on your Steemit Venture!

Steem On!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60896.54
ETH 2918.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61