The Joys and Pains of Pregnancy and Promoting my Steemit Blog on BBC Radio 5 Live!

in #parenting6 years ago

The Buzz of Live Radio

Having been on maternity leave for the past year I had forgotten what the buzz of live radio felt like. Today I got an opportunity to be a guest on the Emma Barnett Show on BBC Radio 5 Live. It's a popular daytime talk radio programme and one of the topics they were discussing today was pregnancy and physical side of being pregnant. Any of you that have read my previous blog entries will know that I have quite a lot to say about this subject!

Morning Sickness

I experienced quite bad "morning" sickness with all my pregnancies which continued for 4 months into the pregnancy. Weirdly enough, each time I got pregnant I thought I would get away without being sick. In fact I forgot how sick I actually felt in those early days of pregnancy. Had that memory been etched in my mind, I would only have had one child!

The Pregnancy Glow

During the the first trimester of pregnancy I was far from glowing. In fact I gave off a pale grey zombie-like glare! However, after 4 months I began to feel better and developed that rosy glow and a new found confidence in my pregnancy body. That was the most enjoyable part of being pregnant. The second trimester is also when I started to feel the baby kicking, which was a lovely and exciting feeling.

People Touching my Belly

Another weird thing about being pregnant is random people thinking it's OK to touch your belly. I'm quite a tactile person and didn't mind family and friends stroking my stomach. However, when random strangers did it I was slightly disturbed!

Listen to the Interview

You can listen to the full interview here:

It was great being back in a radio studio again, this time on the other side of the desk. I'm happy that the presenter mentioned my blog MummyImperfect a couple of times and if you Google that the first thing that comes up is my Steemit page :)

Here's a link to the full show if you want to have a listen. I come in at around 2.21 in the programme. http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b09llgwr

MummyImperfect x

Sort:  

I will try to restrain myself in future, thought humans are like cats and love a good belly rub

Yep. I don’t think a scratch behind the ears would go down well either! Lol

I know men don't realize everything a woman has to endure and go through during pregnancy. hang in there and stay positive. we as men applaud woman who take it in stride and set an example of how to stay tough and compassionate. @mummyimperfect

Thank you. It's nice when men appreciate what women go through to keep the human race going :)

Hey, congrats on your interview! I'm not a mom yet, but loved watching it. And something I probably will hate in my pregnancy is people touching my belly. Weir, isn't it. Good job!

Thank you :)
Yes it was weird. I felt like my belly suddenly became public property without my knowledge!

@mummyimperfect, I am very proud of you. My wife has been pregnant 5 times. We are blessed with 5 wonderful kiddos, but the journey and the changes on her body have been difficult at times.

I am excited to hear that you are starting to feel better. That first trimester can be horrendous. Keep moving forward. Keep getting stronger, and keep Steeming!

Wow five! That’s nice, I like big families but couldn’t handle having anymore now.
Thanks for reading.

The pains of child birth and the joys of motherhood. I give utmost respect to mothers for they deserve it a million times. Sometimes, when I read about different experiences of child delivery, I'm always like "would I want to put someone through this?". But then again, we are humans, the universe has a way of making the memory faint to us.
nice one on your comeback to the studio

Yes it’s certainly not easy but it’s what we were designed to do. It’s nice when people appreciate us mums for doing it though :)

My bestie solved the stranger rubbing the belly perfectly. She would smile and rub said stranger’s belly... then walk away. Point. Made.

thank you, your post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55