You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Life Has Taught Me About Parenting.

in #parenting5 years ago

I have assumed this parental role for a long time now although I don't have kids. I have four siblings (one is kate now) and I have had to raise them with my mum. It's really difficult for me because I never had any guidance as a child. I mostly figured things out myself and that's the way I approach parenting, which really sucks. I think I would fail as a parent.

I think most parents see their kids as an opportunity to make up for their mistakes and past failures. I had a cousin who lived with us for a long time. My mum was always hard on her because of boys--she liked them a lot. And it seemed quite personal because in my mum eyes she didn't want to see her repeat her own mistake which was getting pregnant at a young age. I hopefully would want my kids to be high performs in class and intellectually sound because I actually failed in these areas.

About talent and passion. I believe passionate people usually outshine talented people. They make up for what they lack in talent with hard work and commitment. It is easy to take for granted your talent.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

You are now a strong man. Having ganered these knowledge and experiences at that age, I don't think you will fail when raising your own children.

For your last paragraph, talent alone is never enough to be successful.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for your comment. I appreciate.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think most parents see their kids as an opportunity to make up for their mistakes and past failures. I had a cousin who lived with us for a long time. My mum was always hard on her because of boys--she liked them a lot. And it seemed quite personal because in my mum eyes she didn't want to see her repeat her own mistake which was getting pregnant at a young age. I hopefully would want my kids to be high performs in class and intellectually sound because I actually failed in these areas.

I guess wee want to teach them the lessons we learnt so that they can at least get one mistake behind them. Yet where we feel we failed as children, they may not see it as a failure and see something else as failure instead.

My grandmother got pregnant from an American soldier shortly after the war, so her first child was not her husband's. When her youngest daughter got pregnant early before marriage, she was furious and threatened to kill the boyfriend!

You probably have a better foundation for parenting than most. As long as you're wanting to be a good parent you will be. We will all make mistakes, that's a given, but it doesn't mean we failed. As my daughter once said to me, if you think you are a failure as a parent then that's an insult to your children.

Commitment trumps 'natural talent' any day. I have one daughter who everything came easy to and onfe who always had to work hard at things. The talented one struggles more with working through things when they get hard, but she's getting there.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59036.72
ETH 2970.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73