You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Life Has Taught Me About Parenting.

in #parenting5 years ago

One size definitely doesn't fit all. I was kinda glad I didn't have a second child as I knew I couldn't fluke a decent child twice, lol. I swear I don't know how I raised someone so together, but he tells me I did a good job - do any parents ever think they're nailing it? We seems to learn as we go.

A little neglect could actually make for a more responsible adult.

I'm gonna place my faith in this one - it helps me feel better about the times that I feel guilty for not helping, not being there, and telling him to bloody figure it out for himself. Ah, mother guilt. But I did raise someone who could figure out their own problems, be independent, self reliant and resilient - so there!

Sort:  

Haha! Sometimes they need to be told to figure it out themselves! It obviously worked for him.

Posted using Partiko Android

I DEFINITELY wasnt a helicopter mum. Loving, caring, helpful and fun, sure, but expected a lot too.. and insisted he worked stuff out for himself as well. Mayne its the teacher in me.

'Mum, how would I...'
'What do YOU think the first step would be?'

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59359.30
ETH 3007.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75