My Disrespectful FathersteemCreated with Sketch.

in #parents6 years ago

How my disrespectful father is making of me a better man today. I love my father. He's one of the happiest, funniest, humble and simple man I know. However, It was not always that beautiful as I just described above until recently.

I am very grateful for him, because of him I know how I will raise my children in the future and how I will treat my wife. I don't have a single memory of my father being nice to my mom, in fact, I don't even recall him buying my mother a gift, ever. As I was growing up, I appreciated the fact that at least I know my father. Yes, he was always there and I appreciate that, but I realized thats not all a father should do. I realized that being an good example as your child is watching, is very critical.

Since I have use of memory, i remember my father being a player flirting with girls and very low level like the ordinary Dominican guy. I grew up in that environment of watching my father disrespect my mother even in front of her. I noticed that behavior in me as well in my past relationships. I try to think and rethink why do I have to be like that? Why do I think that its okay to lie to girls or be a player? Well, I found out that it all came from my childhood experiences.

I'm actually very happy with my way of thinking today and it makes me jump out of my bed every morning knowing that I will keep growing from here. I wondered, what if my father gave me a good example? What if my father raised me the way that I'm planning on raising my kids? I would definitely be a different guy today. Probably you wouldn't even know me today or reading this. I'm glad! He didn't.

So, this is my vision. If I do this reverse engineering to my future children, how will they be thinking when they're my age? Will they be more successful? Will they be more of a secured person within themselves and not care about others people's opinions? I guess I will have to find out. All I know is that if I keep the same trend as my dad, the results are going to be the same as me today, even tho is not so bad lol, but I want my future children to do 1000x better than what I'm doing today. I rather go experience the unknown.

I'm a grown man today and I understand my dad. He probably experienced the same childhood or worse, he didn't know better. Growing up en él campo with no TV and WiFi, I understand lol. But I have no excuses! I can see and smell everything from far away today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56