Can you guess what this is?

in #partiko5 years ago

It looks like a bowl of diarrhoea, doesn't it? But I can guarantee you that it isn't :)
This is henna, and half of it is in my hair now. I'm going to be a redhead again, yay.

My boyfriend has done this horrible job once before (with henna that is) when we lived in Spain, and the colour was pretty cool, but this one is supposed to be much better.

It's quite some work getting my hair all covered, as I have long and thick hair. I can't wait till it's done, back to the barber chair now.

~Anouk

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I used henna to dye my hear for more than 20 years. Those first years, it wasn't such a hassle, but since I have my dreadlocks, it was a job that took me hours.

I stopped using it now. I used to bleach my hair before I used the henna, so the red/orange would be brighter. It took me years to find out why my dreads kept getting thinner: I had switched to a different kind of henna, and the new kind contained metal salt (metaalzouten). In combination with the chemical product I used to bleach, those simply dissolved my hair.
So be sure to read what's on the package!

Also, it was always such a mess. I put it on at night and washed it out in the morning. Sleeping with the towel and foil was a burden.

You know that if you put vaseline on your neck and ears and face, you can avoid that your skin turns red?

Also, If you want to have a deeper red color, mix the henna with red wine instead of water. It really works.

I was so tired of it. Everytime it took me hours to apply it to every dreadlock and even longer to wash it out again, so since a year or so, I let a friend color my dreads, the non-henna way.

I loved my red/orange henna color, but I did like the fuchsia non-henna color too, after 15 years of red :0) I'll be going back to orange soon, but henna has really become too much of a hassle, so no more for me :0)

Lol, I totally get that. Even without dreadlocks it's such a hassle.. and it gives such a mess lol.. but I do prefer the colour from henna over the normal colourings.. Last time I had a red colour that was close to orange but the colour looks so shiny and my hair feels so much softer after henna colouring compared to normal chemical colourings from packages :) My hair kept having this awesome shine for months!

This package was a different tint though, and more mahony red, I don't really think it worked out as that deep red mahony colour that the package said, but I do like it, and it's always nice when I have a new colour in my hair.

Will try to make a picture of it later, because the sun is shining, so I should be able to capture it lol :)

Ahhh - it can be so exciting to change the colour of your hair! :D Good luck, hope it turns out to your liking!

Yeah for sure, it's just that I have so much hair and it's so much work, that these 2 henna packages travelled with us from the the last summer in Spain when he used the other henna on my hair before these came to use :-) Now we wait .. and wait some more.. lol

Posted using Partiko Android

I use to color my hair, black as night, but now I embrace the salt n pepper look that's creeping up on me. But I guess it's different for guys on something like this

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha the salt and pepper look , sounds nice :) I don't have a salt and pepper look yet.. wonder when that will happen, as the women in my family didn't grey early either :) I have to take a picture in daylight because our light inside is probably not showing the right colour when I make a picture of it lol

hahahha Dude this looks like vomit after eating too many easter eggs!

Id love to see the result...even just the back side?

Lol, well it just looks dirty whatever you call it hahaha.. I will try capturing it on camera tomorrow in daylight. Just doesn't work inside with fake lights..

I'm not sure how it turned out yet because of the missing daylight.. :') But I think it's not as red as the last time and indeed looks more like Mohany red now ... tomorrow bf is working again, so be patient lol..

I was hoping it was chocolate mousse!

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha, if it was chocolate mousse, it would have been a LOT.. as we didn't have anything other than a glass oven bowl (quite big) we used that to prep the henna. But thanks, now I have to wait until 3 hours until I can wash it out, while having chocolate mousse cravings :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Not my fault at all! There's a steemian from my city that does henna designs, @wildflowerjessi ... I never understood how much work and preparation went into it until ... I did.

Three hours is enough time to let cravings dissapear!

Posted using Partiko Android

True... haha... :) I only had henna in my hair once, and I loved it so much, that we bought 2 extra packages as that shop was closing and had everything on sale 50% so it cost about nothing.. but it's so much work that we both didn't feel like using it sooner.. hope it will turn out nice ..

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61095.28
ETH 2922.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65