Terrible Tuesday

in #partiko5 years ago


This is my not happy face... This is the face I have when the fiber optic line to our Internet Service Provider (ISP) gets pulled down by a sugar beet truck.

It is amazing how much technology is part of our daily lives. I think a lot of times we take for granted the small things we do everyday that require a connection to the Internet.

As Steemians, we probably feel the hurt more than most when that connection is severed. I am not talking about the weekends when I voluntarily disconnect.

It is those times when it is out of your control that really leave you stir crazy. Thank goodness for smartphones and 4G service right?

I want to wish safe travels to those that are lucky enough to attend Steemfest. Many of you have already started your journey and some of you have probably already arrived.

I was supposed to attend a Google conference today called Michigan Google (MiGoogle). I hope to still get to part of it if the crew can get the fiber fixed quickly and I can ensure my users are connected again.

The joys of being an IT professional right?

Have a great day everyone! Hopefully yours is going better than mine so far!

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Earn free crypto income with Mannabase

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

That's a bummer.... We are indeed caught up in technology, but the IT pro you are, you have some great workarounds havn't you ;)

Good luck with the fiber !!

Yes, if I could have, I would have just worked from home. I really need to look into getting us a secondary connection. Thanks for the comment!

Posted using Partiko Android

I don't know about you.. but I wouldn't like to meet this bloke in a dark alley :)

I agree, looks pretty scary. I heard a rumour he is a big teddy bear though.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think I heard that was just a rumor though.. just saying. ;)

And I am totally kidding!

No worries! 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Ohhhh! Talk about a bad day!! It sometimes scares me how much we depend on technology.

Have you ever seen a cashier trying to count money back to you when they enter the wrong amount tendered? OMG... it isn't pretty!!

Hope you get up and running in no time~

Tip!

Yes, I have been in that situation before. It is very sad.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @bozz! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@tipU voting service | For investors.

So? Was the truck too high or the cable too low? I can't believe your utility has fo cables under 15 feet, and FEDERAL truck max is 13'6".

I just hate when junk like that happens.

I wasnt there but if I had to guess it was probably a little bit of both. Pole was probably leaning a little leaving some slack in the line. They load the beet trucks pretty high... Its all about the $$$. They got the splice in by about noon.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ohh yes the joy of working in the IT field if it all works no one appreciates what the IT teams do, if there is a problem were suddenly in the spotlight

I hope you managed ot get to the google event

I didn't unfortunately. I had to stay on site in case they needed to shoot the fiber to find the break. By the time they were done the event was practically over.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thats a real shame

Hi, @bozz!

You just got a 0.53% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hi @bozz!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.469 which ranks you at #6535 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 92 places in the last three days (old rank 6627).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 265 contributions, your post is ranked at #78.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95