WGA ATA . Hollywood Breakup Scene  . screenplay

in #partiko5 years ago (edited)


EXT. HOLLYWOOD - DUSK

The stars are out in the sky and on the streets. Flood lights pass the sky across the cliche hustle and bustle of a Glen Miller swing time tune. Everybody style is arm and arm as they head into the night.

INT. HOLLYWOOD BALLROOM

Hot potato what a night! It’s the new boom and everything is bright. People are dancing and laughing and having a time. Black and white marble floor below a shiny gold and glass ceiling tip taps with the feet of revelers in pairs.

We zoom in one of those pairs. The always dressed to the nines Duke of Century City, ATA is dancing with eternally beautiful Blue Collar Queen of The Industry, WGA.

They finish dancing through forced smiles as the music ends and they head to the bar.

    WGA
I’m leaving.

    ATA
Aw come on baby, it’s cool.

    WGA
Actually no. It’s not cool.

    ATA
Alright, let’s fix it.

    WGA
It’s broken. It’s been broken.

    ATA
Baby baby it’s ok.

    WGA
I don’t feel like you are 
listening to me.  

    ATA
I am. You want to work it out?
What can I do?

    WGA
Start with stop packaging me
in with other appointments.

    ATA
Whuh…

    WGA
You heard me.  Stop packaging me
in with your other “opportunities”.

    ATA
Baby baby baby I’m making
you the moneys.

    WGA
Are you?  Are you making you
the moneys.  Because it looks like 
I am making less.

    ATA
Well that’s a matter of opinion-

    WGA
Math is a matter of opinion now?
The Industry is in a bigger boom 
than Bitcoin yet the over all
pay for Writers has stagnated.

    ATA
There’s more opportunity-

    WGA
For those willing to work harder
for less?  For those willing 
to sign with you?

    ATA
Ok, I can tell your getting 
dramatic, being a creative and all.
Tell you what, let’s hang out
buddy buddy style, play some
Fortnight, and I’ll let you
sit in my Lambo.

    WGA
Look.  You got your lambo.  I 
got a family I love and miss.
I got old and new friends to 
work with, do right by.  You’ll 
get your ten percent-
    
    ATA
AW hell no.  I get whatever 
I want, because I let you work
whenever I want, baby.  It’s 
in your best interest.

AT THE BAR

The bartender hands them their drinks. ATA attemps to pay. WGA waves him away and hands the bartender gold.

    WGA
Ya know.  I dated some real 
dummies in my day. And if I 
learned anything it’s that I
never go back.  

    ATA
What are you saying baby?

    WGA
I could have worked with some
of my best friends.  I could have
heard interest from competing 
studios.  I could have hired the 
talent appropriate for the project. 

I could have written the material 
for the story, instead of what elements
made economical sense for your
package.

    ATA
Yeah but-

    WGA
Yes and you package the talent you 
represent in productions you’re
financially linked to.  

    ATA
Yeah but-

    WGA
Yes and I’m not the best with 
logic but can my advocate
fiduciary technically employed by me,
also at the same time be
my employer?  

    ATA
Yes?

    WGA
No.

    ATA
Honey baby sugar darling.
Oh look at all this moneys I
found in the cushions, I’m sure     
with a few changes we can 
get this bling in your pocket.

SPLASH! WGA tosses her Martini into his face.  She holds her empty glass out as the bartender refills it. 

    WGA
Go on...

    ATA
Baby I need you.  I need to package 
you.

    WGA
Maybe you need to focus on your
UFC deal with Endeavor and 
help Dana package Pay Per Views.

    ATA
Where will you go?  The other agencies?
That’s like buying Doge instead of Corn.
Ha ha ha agents can be funny too...

    WGA
I don’t care what that means. 

    ATA
I have the fancy buildings.  I have
golf course across the street.  Me have
Lambo. 

    WGA
Then you won’t miss me.

    ATA    
Do you really think you can
leave me?  For who?

    WGA
I always like Boutiques on Vacation.
One’s small enough to pop in and out 
of along the journey.

    ATA
Me not follow.  Me scared. 

    WGA
Don’t be scared. You’ll eat.

    ATA
But I… I… I love you.

    WGA
I wanted to respect you.  And there 
are many good hearts trapped in     
Century City.  But look…

Sometimes things just end. The end.

I’m wishing you, your lambo, and 
those of you with families, 
all the best in your future 
endeavours.

    ATA
Thanks Vince McMahon.

    WGA
There’s a sense of humor! 
Hahaha

    ATA
Hahaha
    
    WGA & ATA
HAHAHAHAHA

    ATA
Please-

    WGA
Buy bye.

WGA and ATA stare at each other a moment. A look of sadness for just a moment, but like the darkness before dawn, it is gone. WGA kisses ATA on the cheek. A tear.

The music fades for ATA as he watches her leave. She was the best thing that he ever had and now…

He turns back to the bar, as WGA steps onto the Dance Floor, a Free Independent Rock n Roll Woman.

BLACKOUT


wga ata news
wga.org
deadline.com
variety.com
thehollywoodreproter.com


THANK YOUS


writing movies fiction story news

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I love it, and I think WGA needs to throw a drink in ATA's face. Just, you know, for the audience. Also in real life

Yes and! Great idea B !

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @jacobts! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3500 comments. Your next target is to reach 4000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97