Speyside Single malt scotch whisky flight - Aultmore 12YO, Longmorn 16YO, Craigellachie 18YO and Glenrothes Minister's Reserve 21YO

in #partiko5 years ago

I had fun with the Bourbon flight (see previous post) so I decided to go through the liquor cabinet and see what would be good to do another flight. Luckily for me I was able to find these 4 all from the Speyside region. Ahhh.... all those whiskys I bought going through airport duty free thinking I'll drink them one day finally paid off as I opened 3 new bottles (though I had already bought the Longmorn and the Craigellachie previously and knew what they tasted like).

AULTMORE 12YO

This was easily the most surprising whisky, not only because its the first time I tried it, but because there was a very distinct hazelnut oaky nose that I didn't expect. I should have known better than to have any expectations since I had already told myself the battle would be between the Longmorn and the Craigellachie (having tried both before) but more on that later..... The Aultmore was great, soft and nutty on the nose, sweet and fulsome flavour yet complex with hints of citrus when taken neat. A dash of water did soften the harshness but not the flavour. The aftertaste did remind me of being on a foggy hillside, sort of wistful and groggy but that could be the marketing influencing my thinking.

Longmorn 16YO

I have had several of these and always want to have a bottle handy. For me it is a quintessential Speyside whisky in that the nose is light, nutty and floral but unlike many Speyside whiskys the taste is stronger with more complexity of flavours that is very satisfying. The only downside to this whisky is the packaging, the box opens in the middle and the weight of the bottle can easily tip out if not handled carefully. A step up in terms of strength and flavour from the Aultmore but still very much a similar Speyside profile. A touch of water made it smoother although part of the enjoyment of this whisky is its strength.

Craigellachie 18YO

By far the strongest and most complex of the 4 whiskys tasted in this flight, the nose is floral but strong with a little more oak than the others and not as nutty. The taste is nothing short of wonderful and I'm so happy to have this whisky in my collection. It really should be savoured rather than compared but I would only have found it having done the flight. Pronounced citrus and floral flavours with hints of oak. A splash of water enhanced the experience and rounded out the harshness though not the flavour.

Glenrothes Minister's Reserve 21YO

Glenrothes is the mildest of the Speyside whiskys I've had. Not just this flight but generally speaking. This 21YO has some redeeming features but in this line up, it shows that age doesn't equate to quality. A mild, almost bland floral and nutty nose (certainly by comparison), I guess it fits the flavour profile of a Speyside whisky. The taste didn't pop like the Longmorn or the Craigellachie but then I guess some people like that. A decent example of a Speyside whisky but you could buy the standard 12YO and it would be pretty good as an indication of what Speyside whisky has to offer.

The Craigellachie was the winner over the Longmorn. To be honest, I thought this would be the case when I lined them up and the tasting bore out the expectation. A fun way to spend the night.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 8.81% upvote from us for your 1003 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Congratulations @yippeekaiyay! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 40 posts. Your next target is to reach 50 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60985.22
ETH 2914.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74