The lifelong journey- from Student to Guru and back

in #patanjali6 years ago

I have started a journey into the past.

Over the past ten years I have been studying the Asanas / the physical postures of the yogic studies.

Practising the Asanas are a minuscule aspect of the science and practise which most people (including myself) have failed to understand.

I have wanted to become a #yoga teacher for a very long time not fully understanding why I have been compelled to do so.

With time the revelation self-care and helping others heal/liberate themselves from pain has revealed itself as to why I am walking this path.

As time passes, the more I am seeing myself in others and have an innate urge to understand and share these ancient methods on how to attain a higher state of being. Yoga has given me hope and nurturing through the hardest times of my life.

I approached yoga as a complete skeptic, and at 17 I was in a very dark place with severe pain and mental instability. I suffered from frequent panic attacks/anxiety which manifested in blacking out, vertigo, severe nausea and debilitating back pain. Throughout this time I was self medicating with copious amounts of drugs / alcohol and was very malnourished.

My oldest sister was always my source of knowledge and inspiration.

She taught me about vegetarianism at 8 years old and yoga at 17.
Not delving too deep into nitty gritty..... Yoga gradually began to save me in every way.

I approached yoga with caution through a humble understanding that there is a great amount of information to assimilate.

Yoga is a mystical, ancient and beautiful science which has such distant history it is not only hard to trace the origins but the extensive depth of yoga is something which requires an open mind, heart and TIME to embark in attempting to attain the gist of the potential power it can bring into the lives of all humanity.

To begin my historical leap into the past I will begin to study the father of yoga. Whom is believed could be one or many people... who was a scholar, scientist, yogi and author of many important yoga scripts ( the yoga sutras) . He is called a saint and the "Father" of yoga.... and the more I try to learn, the less I know who or what #Patanjali was.
Screen Shot 2018-11-04 at 7.30.42 pm.png

"I bow with my hands together to the eminent sage Patañjali, who removed the impurities of the mind through yoga, of speech through grammar, and of the body through medicine."

योगेन चित्तस्य पदेन वाचां मलं शरीरस्य च वैद्यकेन। योपाकरोत्तं प्रवरं मुनीनां पतञ्जलिं प्राञ्जलिरानतोस्मि॥

pata.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @scarlettzion! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard Contest Teaser
The new Steemfest³ Award is ready!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @scarlettzion! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest⁴ - Meet the Steemians Contest
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73