An Actors Minute June 21, 2018 - Do I need an agent?

in #paulcaraway6 years ago

An-Actors-Minute-Paul Caraway-June 21-Do-I-Need-An-Agent.png

This is probably the question I am asked from fellow actors and non-actors the most! So right now I am in between agents. I want that to be clear. My previous agent made the decision to closer her agency. So you might be wondering... how can I talk about this subject? Well it is simple! I have been in both positions of having an agent and not having an agent. Let's break it into 2 separate topics.

Do I need an agent?

First ask yourself... a few questions... Think about what I wrote about last week. Are you serious about being an actor? Am I getting quality roles that I enjoy? Am I getting auditions for roles that are pushing me out of my comfort zone?

If you are serious about being an actor you have the choice of find roles you can fill. Keep in mind what you can find on the websites that the Agencies use are not the same roles you see! Sometimes roles are sent to an Agent we will never have the chance to see. If that is okay with you then lets move to the next question.

Am I getting auditions for quality roles that I enjoy? If you are not getting the auditions then you will not be cast for that role! If your agent is getting a better selection of roles that fit your skill then this is a plus! Now for the next question.

Am I getting auditions for roles that are pushing me out of my comfort zone? If you are then that is great... if you are not are you looking for those roles or are you limiting your mindset to those roles? Once again your agent will have roles that you may not see that will push you further!

Now just because you have an agent does not mean you should not be looking... they might not see what you see either. I found this out from my agent. Sometimes the websites are not posting for agents to see... only for talent. Now one of the biggest things I use my agent for is to discuss a potential role. Is it a scam or is it legit! Your agent will most likely know if it is a scam. Listen to their advice. They are there to help you. This is how they are paid... finding you quality work. I was blessed to have an agent that I could pick up the phone and call or simply drop them an e-mail!

How do I find quality auditions?

This is the part that your agent takes up the slack... but, now your without an agent... so it is time to start your search. It might cost you some money to get setup but, this is an investment to be an actor. Just a list a few of the ones I use:

  1. ActorsAccess.com - It is free to join but, it will cost you to submit via breakdown services. This is one of the top websites.
  2. BackStage.com - Free to look at but need to be a subscriber to submit for roles. This has either a monthly or annual membership. I always choose the annual membership because it is less expensive than the monthly membership fee.
  3. CastingNetworks.com - Free to look at but need to a a subscriber to submit.
  4. CastingFrontier.com - Free to look at but need to a a subscriber to submit.
  5. MyCastingFile.com - Free, but you get a higher return on the annual fee which is inexpensive. (Yes, I have found very well paying roles through this website. You have to be selective.)

There are several more available... but, these are my go to websites. I also subscribe to a few different newsletters. Also, I like pages for actors in my area, follow the State & Local Film Commission, and build relationships with director and casting directors. Yes, I have been contacted directly for a shoot without a direct submission. (This is very rare though!).

The thing is with out an agent you have to represent yourself and constantly locate the work. With an agent you have a lot of help. Plus, agents receive castings that you might not ever see. Back to the question 'Do I need an agent?'. I say yes you do if you want to make this a career. For myself, I am doing some projects and development work where I believe it will me grow so I am more valuable!

Until next week... My name is Paul Caraway... More Power To You!


The-Scene-Promo-Ad.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62656.62
ETH 2941.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59