DIY Sterilising solution for mouth guards, baby bottles, menstrual cups, dentures, sex toys and more! Pay it forward, round one, day fivesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #payitforward7 years ago (edited)

So, I thought I would play in pay it forward, but really wanted to write something useful.

diva cup
image source

So here goes.

I’m a teeth grinder, much to my dentist’s dismay, apparently one of the worst cases he’s ever seen. I chewed through a custom fit mouth guard in just a couple of months.

After a bit of research, I found that the grinding is just a symptom of a more serious problem which is sleep apnoea

So, I signed up for a Snorex which would solve both the grinding and the apnoea.

I have to say that I am very happy with it! There was a learning curve, but I am sleeping so much better.

One awesome piece of information I got, was how to make my own sterilising solution to keep it in.

After some discussion, I asked if this solution could be used elsewhere- like baby teats, dentures or menstrual cups (If you don’t know what a menstrual cup is, drop everything and go buy one at this link and use my code VAB649 to get $5 to $10 off. Its life changing.) I’M LOOKING AT YOU BOB!

The answer was YES- it can absolutely be used, and it’s VERY safe. Once you see the ingredients, you’ll see why.

The disinfecting solution is:

-1tsp salt
-1 tsp plain bleach (carefully measured)
-1 litre soda water (carbonated is important, it neutralises one component in the bleach)

Mix the salt and bleach first in a little soda water, then add the rest of the soda. I just take some out of the bottle, then put it back in.

To use: mix half and half with water. So this makes 2 litres all up. Only add water when ready to use.

For dentures and snorex, change solution once per week (or twice if you have a cold).

For things that are not stored in solution, soak for 30 mins then take out.

So there you have it, dirt cheap and easy to find ingredients.

Do you think you will use this? Where else do you think it can be used? Are you a DIYer?

DayPostAuthorWinner
Root 1Pay It Forward - Let The Games Of Blogchain Begin!@dragosroua@ervin-lemark
2What Is Your Favourite David Bowie Song? [Pay It Forward, Round One, Day Two]@ervin-lemark@nik9
3Do Real Men Have Feelings Too? [Pay It Forward, Round One, Day Three]@nik9@trevor.george
4Do you always have control? - Pay it forward, round one day four@trevor.george@skymaiden
5DIY Sterilising solution for mouth guards, baby bottles, menstrual cups, dentures, sex toys and more! Pay it forward, round one, day five@skymaidenTBA

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55