REDFISH -Having Problems Understanding Voting - How To Vote What Does It All Mean

in #payitforward6 years ago

DSCN0286.JPG

VOTING
This is an area that most of us do not understand . I for one fall into this category . If it is a problem for me I know for a fact that there are many who are less knowledge than I . Lets see if we can tackle some of the unknown as a team .

  • VOTING VALUE AS A %
    In order to understand voting you have to first understand and use your voting value in order to maximize your vote . In order to do this I use @steemworld.org/@(username)


Capture.PNG

As you can see my voting value % is 98.37 % . The table next to it indicates the value of my vote at different % of vote level cast . I have the option of casting a vote at different % levels up to 100% . This is known as a sliding voting scale . Every time I or you vote the voting value % will decrease .

  • 500 SP
    For a Redfish the sliding scale is not an option . all of your votes will be at the 100% voting scall .You will only receive this option at around 500 SP . I have made numerous remarks on the importance of powering up to that level in order to receive this tool . This is only one of the reason to reach 500 SP . I will discuss other reasons at a latter date .

For the majority of redfish your vote is worth $ 0.00 at 100 % scale . That should right there tell you something . I have no tolerance for redfish who say "upvote me and I upvote you" or anything similar . Not only are you insulting my intelligence but where is the equality in that statement . Think about it . All I am going to say on the matter .

  • How curation reward work on voting.

If you vote between zero minutes and ten minutes , the author keeps 100% of the curation. After 30 minutes have passed, the value of your vote (curation) is split 25% to you and 75% to the author. Before 30 minutes and after 10 minutes , it is a sliding scale increasing form the 10 minute to the 30 minute so that a larger proportion of the curation goes to the voters .

There are a lot of verabilies that go into curation . The perfect situation is that there are only two votes cast . Yours at 30 minutes and a large vote after yours . Giving you the majority of the curation . My advice is to leave this topic for another day . I put it out there for informational purposes only and a better understanding .

Rules to follow

  • Vote no more the 10 times in a 24 hour period

  • Good quality comments and replies that entice a response are your tools

  • Good engagement is the key to your success

  • Make your vote visible

a vote is best placed on someone's comment, and followed with a good reply. This will make your vote visible, and if the author likes what you have to say, the vote and the comment combined can work well. source

No one expects at a Redfish level to be engaged in that many community oriented discords or projects . What I can say is that I expect some type of community involvement .
We all have to find that nich that works for each and everyone of us individually . I do always ask and seek the question , if your not here to build a better future and a community , why are you here !

I have enclosed a lot of information and resources that should keep you busy for awhile . The steamworld alone will take using it continually to get a grasp of its value . I will leave you with two more items .
These are out of the @payitforward library on voting ;

Wolfhart
Redfish / User

Sort:  

I like that you are taking the opportunity to break it all down. I have noticed a few things in the last 3 weeks since I rented my slider bar. In about 3 months I had earned .2 SP curating. Since I rented the SP I have earned 1.37 SP from curation. And for the record, no it doesn't come close to paying for the delegation, lol.

Second, since I got the slider I have averaged giving a little over 30 upvotes per day. I have still dipped a few times into the upper 70% range on voting power. I was testing if the increased engagement would prove helpful in my overall growth. The jury is still out on that as I am unsure what part my own actions may have played a role.

Spreading so many votes out, I have had a better chance to watch behaviors of reciprocation. I am still calculating what I will do, but have noticed more than I would have thought do not reciprocate, even after they have received several upvotes from me. While no one owes another a vote, it does help me in forming my opinion on those worthy of my own, as no one is owed mine neither.

I used profits from position trading to buy a little more Steem, in case I decide to rent two more weeks worth when this expires mid next week, but unsure if I will or if I would be better off simply voting 3x less and investing it in SP. Of course my votes would all be dust then.

@practicalthought steem has dropped that could be one reason for the lower profits.
I have seen positive results from buying SP for a slider and also mixed feelings on it also

If you buy SP you have absolutely no choice to do some self voting to make up the cost . up to 50 %

No matter you are still a redfish and have to take care of yourself before others or at the expense of others . You are going away and during that period I would auto vote an account that post around 4 times a day @ 100 % That right there should tell you who I would auto vote for !

As far as prior I would vote 100% 10 times a day 5 times to myself 3 to people I support an 2 to random . you can break that down if you want to but pretty much that is what i would do to get out of the renting BS and power up all . it can't be worse than what your doing now

my thoughts think about it and make it work in your situation

I will think about your advice my friend, and appreciate it. @energyaddict22 was kind enough before I rented delegation to analyze my account. He had advised a 50-60% self vote as well to recoup most of my investment. I respect both of you very much, proud to have the evolving friendships we are building, but it feels wrong to upvote myself so much. Perhaps naive on my part as those I try to forge bonds with disappoint me more than it works out, but I keep thinking if I help others build their accounts they would wish the same for mine and together we can all climb this thing quicker. But as I said, the reality seems to be more closely aligned with how you two are going at this.

Thank you

@practicalthought I know what you mean about the self vote and I too am having problems . I will continue to support others and have tweek what I was doing . Also you cannot support others if you don't take care of yourself also . As far as @energyaddict goes I would listen .

I think curation rewards are a moot point for most red fishes (payback is below dust upper threshold) so unless the post does extremely well you'll really won't get anything.
Although curation itself is extremely importance both technically and socially. It is one of the way most important ways to support the community back.
Even if our vote is negligible, I think we all should get in the habit of curating from early on.

@hashcash Starting with good habits is the way to go . its to hard to break bad ones and reverse your direction and relearn all over again . I forgot to put a comment on @dustsweepers in there . will get it next time baby steps . there is a lot in that post for a redfish

Nice Idea for a post and easy to follow. We learn something new everyday and today I learned that authors keep 100 % of rewards earned in the first 10 minutes.

Thanks for your post.

everyday new things to learn .

Hello wolfhart!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Congratulations. Your post is randomly selected to resteem and upvote!
Please consider upvoting this comment and following me to better support the community.
Regards, @resteemdone

Followers count: 1392

It means that you will be giving 100% frequency or weight of your SP towards somebody. It won't drain your SP for the day. You can vote 40x @ 100% before your SP will drain.

This is what I only knew. If things have change, people around can tell us.

@sfpoulcolin for every vote you cast your voting power decreases by 2% . It repleshes at a rate of 20% per day . Don't drain your Steem Power to levels below 80%. Your votes will have less effect (worth less) the lower your Voting Power goes

If you vote 40 times you just drained your voting value down to 20% .(40x 2% = 80%) if your vote is worth 0.10 at 100 % it will be worth 0.004 at 20% vote value % when you vote at 100 % .
It will also take you 4 days to replenish your vote back to 100 % .
Below is a copy of yours . You have 57.56 voting power and you will get back up to 100% VP ~> 100% in 2d 4h 15m | 2018-06-03, 00:45

sfpoulcolin.PNG

With that all said how can you say
It won't drain your SP for the day. You can vote 40x @ 100% before your SP will drain.

Or did I misunderstand you ?

Thanks for all of the info. This is the first I have heard of the tool available at 500sp. Gives me something to aim for. I have a long way to go.

@big.ock It one of the reasons that I have been pushing Redfish to reach the level of 500 SP

very useful for us all

Do or do not. There is no try.

@jehovahwitness how does this increase the conversation

Always helpful stuff. I too one day hope to grow up to be a redfish.

This minnow has dreams! lol

@davidwardlow A Redfish is a minnow with less then 500 SP . Its a term that is used based on SP instead of Vest
I would like to see you grow up to a dolphin 😎


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61663.08
ETH 2893.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48