Dog-Day Cicada Molting

in #pc-animal5 years ago

I had several Dog-Day Cicadas visit my small cement wall near my miniature garden last summer. The wall and my garden are good places for them to molt. They live and grow underground for many years and then emerge from the ground to become an adult. They need to shed their skin so they can fly to a tree and begin their loud, buzzing song to find a mate. They only live as an adult for approximately two weeks to 40 days. There are several species and sub-species of cicadas. This one is called a dog-day cicada because they emerge from the ground during the sultry, hot dog-days of summer. The following photos are of this cicada's molting process.

The wings are now open to dry.

When the wings are dry, they fold them to their side.

Molting is now complete. It stayed for about a minute and then flew to the tree.

This is a different one that I found in my garden.

This is a different sub-species of the Dog-Day Cicada and as you can see, it is gray and black. I found this adult on the leaf of my Zinnia plant.

You know how happy I am when I can get a photo of my subjects face. Yay!

Thanks for stopping by!

Information Source: bugfacts.com, livescience.com

Image Source: All photos are my own.

I am a proud member of the @whalepower community.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much! I am truly grateful for the honor. : )

This post was upvoted by 4 accounts and @interfecto thanks to @accumulator

@interfecto: Selling the cheapest upvotes on Steemit for just 0.001 SBD each! Send any amount 0.001-0.1 SBD with your postlink as memo to @interfecto to buy instant upvotes!

Thank you all so much! I am truly grateful! : )

Now I can say I've seen a cicada molt.
Crazy cool photos!

Thanks so much for your kind words and for stopping by! : )

Wow the colours and wings of the first Cicadas interesting looking creature well done in capturing the progress @whatisnew

Thanks for your kind words @simonjay! It sure was interesting to watch. : )

Gorgeous, just like @papa-pepper posts.... :-)

Wow! That is a great compliment. Thanks so much Mike! : )

What wonderful photos, and in a way a miracle. Life cycle of the cicada always impresses on me the urge every species has to survive and to propagate.

Your appreciation and respect for life comes through in your photos. So glad I caught this one.

A miracle indeed. I always find it sad that when insects become adults, their main purpose is to mate and then die.

Wow! What a wonderful compliment this is and I can't thank you enough.

Your appreciation and respect for life comes through in your photos. So glad I caught this one.

Can't hide character :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62