Planning on building a new PC

in #pc4 years ago


Hey everyone!

As some of you might have heard I've been wanting to build a new PC for some time now. I've managed to postpone it for 6 months now because who would want to sell Steem at $1 knowing its potential. ;)

I started streaming on Twitch a few months back and I enjoyed it a lot. Since my PC is very weak and somewhat broken it didn't let me game that much while streaming, as it requires pretty decent hardware, but I did more curation streaming instead and it was really fun seeing Steemians get together on twitch and chat while doing live streaming. I intend to do more of that in the future!

I lost a bit of motivation streaming on Twitch as well, much like other platforms dominated by adrevenue and greedy shareholders, it seemed to be going down the same path there as well. With the @dlive announcement around the same time it made me not want to waste any more of my time on Twitch. If you haven't heard of @dlive, I urge you to check it out, it's really exciting. Basically they want to create a decentralized streaming platform built on Steem, which means that you will be able to log in to the platform your Steem account through Steemconnect and donate to your favorite streamers with Steem & Steem Dollars which have no fees but also upvote the streams with your Steem Power! Another really exciting thing was that you will even be able to vote on the chat bar, for streamers this will be very revolutionizing as no other platform let's streamers reward their active chatters the same way.

In preparation of @dlive I now want to build a nice PC that will last me a few years - as in the hardware should be good enough to run any games while streaming that will be released in the next few years. This might be a lot to ask since technology is evolving constantly and at an accelerating speed it feels like, but I'm sure we can find some good solutions to it. Thing is I'm not very tech-savvy, that's why I wanted to write down what parts I've been planning to order and let you guys tell me if you think its a good idea or if you have something better in mind.

Good suggestions and discussions will be rewarded with higher votes. :)


Screens

I want to get 2 screens, they don't have to be too large, between 27"-32" but they have to be 144hz and have a fast reaction time. This is important for gaming such as FPS like CS:GO. 2 will be necessary for streaming and trading.

Tower

A good medium-full tower, I haven't looked into these at all yet, so if you can suggest some that are looking pretty neat and are good at keeping the temperature low, let me know.

Motherboard

I've heard ASUS is producing quality motherboards lately, so I would want something that is solid and will have room to let me upgrade to two GPU's if necessary in the future.

Graphics Card

I've gotten pretty bored of AMD's after years of mining and them dying on me probably due to it, the software has not been the best either so I would like to switch to NVidia. I've heard the 1080 TI's are beasts that should be able to run anything even while streaming. Anything above 12GB VRAM would be preferred.

CPU

With CPU's I'm really unsure, some keep telling me to get a threadripper while others say the i7's are a lot better for gaming and especially streaming. I won't be doing much rendering except for when posting some videos on @dtube, but that won't matter how fast it does it as long as you can use the PC while its rendering - my current CPU barely let's me use chrome while rendering.

If you can suggest some good water coolers for the CPU as well that would be appreciated.

What memory I get shouldn't that important, I'll just get whatever is necessary and normal at the time and upgrade if needed. I've heard they have at least doubled in price lately.

If you want to include power supplies and which SSD's you'd prefer, that would also be appreciated.

If someone feels like writing a full list with prices and comments as to why you'd choose what you chose, I will reward you extra for your time.

Thanks in advance and thanks for reading. Let's get some quality streaming going soon. :)


Sort:  

Hey you should try AMD's new Ryzen chipset and GPU, Linus Tech Tips WAN live show....super cheap and affordable and is pretty great for gaming....here's a link...

Yeah, I like the idea of still posting on STEEM so we can use the proceeds to buy HIVE. Well done.

If you have money to spend, just buy this:

https://www.asus.com/Tower-PCs/ROG-GT51CA/

With this:

https://www.asus.com/us/ROG-Republic-Of-Gamers/ROG-Swift-PG65UQ/

That's really another level.

Hi @acidyo, personally, I like NZXT products (https://www.nzxt.com/) they have some good towers and water coolers. I prefer NVidia (a 1080 TI is a good choice) even for my RIGs 😂 but then I understand that some may prefer AMD and as for the CPU, I can't help it, I bought an Intel Xeon pre-series from China years ago.

Intel Xeon pre-series are manufactured by Intel before the final product is released to test the manufacturers' servers and are normally not marketable. It's a risky market because of the scams but you can make great deals!

setup.jpeg

You should get an Occulus Rift and watch VR Yoga on Youtube. That's what I did and never looked back.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57453.27
ETH 2928.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67