Emotional Intelligence // Peace Academy Curriculum

in #peaceacademy6 years ago

What is Emotional Intelligence?

Emotional intelligence is the ability to understand, analyze, express, and manage your own emotions while also being able to recognize and respond to the emotions of others.

Emotional Intelligence is just as important as IQ when it comes to truly understanding ourselves and others. It is also a necessary component to achieving and maintaining peace.

"All learning has an emotional base," - Plato.

Emotional intelligence has been referred to as a subset of Social intelligence and an important component used to guide our overall thinking, decision making, and actions.

The 5 Domains of Emotional Intelligence

Self Awareness
Self Awareness involves recognizing and understanding what our emotions are. This is not always an easy task. Sometimes we take on the emotions of others on a subconscious level or our emotions just feel like a jumbled mess.
We need to take a screen shot of what we are feeling and analyze it, separate our feelings from the feelings of others, and get to the root cause of our feelings in order to correctly identify the emotion and why we are feeling it.

Managing Emotions
This involves controlling and managing our feelings, taking a step back to analyze what we are feeling before acting impulsively, regulating our emotions and responding appropriately, as well as accurately responding to the emotions of others.

Social Awareness
Empathy is the ability to recognize, understand, and empathize with the emotions of others. It is a key component to achieving and maintaining peace.

Relationship Management
This aspect of emotional intelligence helps with building rapport, compromise, finding common ground, and conflict resolution.

Emotional Reasoning
Once we have awareness and understanding of our emotions, they can help guide our reasoning, cognitive abilities, and decision making and subsequent actions.

Sort:  

Very interesting post!

Emotional intelligence is very important..... It can be used to make our lives happier and very useful in raising children in order to teach them self-confidence... etc
Thank you @aggroed for this great post

Very good explanation of what makes up our emotional aspect.

Congratulations @aggroed, this post is the most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superhero or Legend account holder (accounts hold greater than 100 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superhero and Legend account holders during this period was 24 and the total pending payments to posts in these categories was $1427.94. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

EXCELLENT Post @Aggroed !!

EQ is the foundation for Both monetary SUCCESS + HAPPINESS...imho

Perhaps a Good example of a high EQ is Richard Branson...

Someone I've been mentoring for over 15 years, had the privilege to be 1 on 1 with Richard for about 45 minutes 12 years ago.

Richard was not only respectful but also very humble and almost like a young kid... don't have time to fully tell this story but believe that Branson is not only a Multi-Billionaire.... but also a very Happy and a "Well-Grounded" Billionaire.

Thank You Again @Aggroed... very well written Post. ReSTEEMed !!

Cheers !!

This is something I'd love to see... I know that emotions has a very great effect on the person and the more focus you have on money the less you'll have on happiness..... And isn't the money only a way for us to reach happiness?

If you made a post about Richard Branson, send me a link~

Robots will have a long, long way to go before they can ever be truly as human as a person is, especially when it comes to emotions.

I'm not sure if I'm to keen to see A.! gain emotions to fast anyway. Us humans provide enough emotion for the earth as it is. I'd rather A.I stick to logic. If your wondering why i'm not sticking to a single Robot or "node" is because they will be all linked together into a single consciousness through the "Internet of Things"

I like when you said: "We need to take a screen shot of what we are feeling and analyze it, separate our feelings from the feelings of others, and get to the root cause of our feelings in order to correctly identify the emotion and why we are feeling it."

I often struggle with anger and I recently recognized, with the help of others, that my anger ia often actually a result of disappointment, fear or sadness, and Im just fighting to conceal my vulberability with a facade of anger.

It helps to as you say, analyze our feelings to discover the root cause. I cant heal if I dont address my pain and my pain ends up hurting those I love if I fail to handle it well.

Thanks for the great post!

Thanks for the information about Emotional Intelligence I was looking for thanks

Thank you aggroed. I have to work on "managing my emotions". Your post clearly puts me back on track. Upvoted and resteeming.

I never really understood much about emotions or empathy but it turned out I was really good at. I have been able to give empathy without knowing what it really was I was doing. Must be my "Gemini" skills. I really enjoyed this and I need to get better with my emotional awareness and how to understand them to make better decisions sometimes though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63894.44
ETH 3342.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91