You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Peace Academy Curriculum // How to Break Free From a Victim Mentality and Empower Yourself

in #peaceacademy6 years ago

@aggroed,

Good post. Victim mentality in our culture is becoming endemic. Amongst the younger generation, being weak and vulnerable is being worn as a badge of honor.

Indeed, it seems almost like a competition to see who can be the most broken. This does not bode well for society.

I've become involved with the poetry community here on Steemit and one of the things I've noticed is how dark so much of the poetry is. I even did a post on it. Few, it would seem, wish to be talked out of their doldrums.

Bad things happen to everybody. Life is about pushing through. Wallowing in it just makes it worse, and often, pathological.

https://steemit.com/poetry/@quillfire/good-i-look-in-those-jeans-poem-it-s-all-about-perspective

Sort:  

I was thinking this myself a while back, as I set up my blog which was initially to help people with anxiety. What I discovered was, many people with anxiety have become so identified with it, that it appears they don't even want to get rid of it.

Sounds insane but it becomes so much part of their identity that they fear losing who they are (who they THINK they are) if they get rid of the anxiety. So they spend all day writing morose poetry or complaining about how no one understands them and retweeting memes about how shit it is to have anxiety and getting angry with people who make nasty comments about mental illness. You can apply this to any kind of label or issue people have.

I understand because I've been there. But there came a point where I knew the world wasn't gonna change for me and I had to change myself if I wanted my life to get better. Problem is, most victim mentality types think the opposite - the world needs to change for them to have a better life. So they are constantly fighting others rather than working on themselves.

That said, there are people who have a real problem with victim mentality purely because they lack compassion and empathy or can't see that there IS social injustice and people struggling with real personal issues out there (or refuse to acknowledge it).

But my point is, you just have to ignore them and focus on yourself because that's where the true power lies :)

I recommend The Power of Now by Eckhart Tolle, which has a great section which features victim mentality and how we often don't want to get rid of our pain and struggle.

Hasta luego!

@timothyphoenix,

Beautifully written, ideas brilliantly articulated ... and edited! You are completely right. You should do a post on this subject. I'm going now to check out your feed.

Thanks, appreciate that man :) I haven't posted anything yet in Steemit yet as I'm new, gonna get my introduction done today!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69384.14
ETH 3682.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.31