#booklove

in #people5 years ago

i-like-big-books-and-i-cannot-lie1391501-prints.jpg
src

Seriously, I'm thinking about a running series called 'what's wrong with people' – there's just too much to mention in one post. And then, everyone could add their own issue with society today, it would be swell.
As part of the promotion I'm doing for my book, I'm part of a lot of reader groups on Facebook. And while they are slightly less annoying than the writing groups I'm in (again, promotion), they do have their moments. Only the other day, as I was scrolling aimlessly, waiting for my laptop to start up, I came upon this post about The Hobbit. The cover drew me in, I don't generally read this sort of post, mainly because I couldn't care less.
So, there was this post by some lady saying she was going to start reading The Hobbit. And it was updated (because there are so many out there just dying to know how your reading is going...) to say she'd since quit the book because she didn't find it interesting. Or she didn't like the writing or something. Anyway, I thought that's all good and fine, it's your right not to. But then I hit upon the comments and found one saying they (I don't remember if it was the OP or someone else) had never found The Lord of The Rings appealing because they were big books and big books “just don't appeal to them”.

Erm...what?

What?

How can you call yourself a reader and say such a stupid thing? And they're not even particularly big books. I mean each one has like 400-500 pages in total, I think....not that big, really. Bigger than the average book, sure, but they're not Stephen King-1000-page-long ones, either. They're pretty decent, lengthwise.

What do these people find appealing? A brochure? Vogue magazine? I guess we'll never know.

But the thing that's actually annoying (the comment itself isn't annoying, it's just very stupid) is that these people think they're smart. Being “cultured” is a fucking trend. It's trendy to read nowadays, though not like really, you know have a fashionable book (not too big, God forbid) to carry around.

It doesn't matter if you've been reading the same book for a month.. You're still cool. After all, you don't want to seem one of those bimbos who just sits there checking her Instagram, right?

It's so stupid. I mean why would you rather pretend to be well-educated? Why not actually educate yourself? It's far more rewarding and you end up not really caring what other people think? I see hundreds of such people, all trying to sound smart and like something else when they're all really just the same...They're all reading the same book because it's fashionable and watching the same vanilla Netflix show and probably attending the same music festival, even though they couldn't care less about that music. But all the “cool” people are there, so they kinda have to.

Thanks for reading,

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Sort:  

(: noʎ ɟo ǝɔᴉu ʎɹǝʌ s,ʇɐɥʇ 'noʎ ʞuɐɥ┴

Should I believe that no one in our era would read Proust because is too long?? :))

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99