Painting of a Female Torso - Illustration Process

in #people6 years ago

#69

Painting of a female torso, practicing anatomy, check out the step by step process below.


I start with the darkest areas or contours to establish the base and then just fill in the shading. This way it's easier to quickly get the proportions and basic shading in. Painting is more about abstracting what you see and I found this to be the best method for me to see shapes and forms and indicate them easily.

8.jpg

I look for the darker silhouettes of color and indicate those first ... but try to group areas where I can, in order to avoid unnecessary detailing in the beginning. Anatomy in general is pretty tough to paint because of subtle variations in shading, but familiarity with the human form makes it even harder because you just know when something doesn't look right even when you can't point it out. It's a brain thing.

What do you guys think?

7.jpg

Suggestions for my future posts are very welcome ...
and thank you for your votes and resteems guys :)

Daily Art & Design


Sort:  

Very nice. I love the contrast.

You have a really asthetic art style, love it! And the method of yours is quite interesting 🧐😄 Keep that great work up! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68