You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Siberian Pea Shrub 🌱 Abundant Soil Building, Food, Fodder & Seeds

in #permaculture5 years ago

Something is wrong with our Siberian peas. They grow less than 10 cm per year. And two years they were destroyed by snails. So in 5 years they're less than knee high. They were also started from seed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

That is unfortunate. I don't have enough experience to know why that is. This is my first time personally growing them. I visited a homestead that had somewhat similar siberian peas several years in and they were still very small, similar size to yours. They were in a mixed pine forest edge with very sandy soil. The photos in this post were taken from a friend's homestead only about 7 or 8 years old and rich loamy soil. I'm sure there are other factors besides the soil but that's the first thing I am thinking about when I compare those two situations... I wonder what your soil is like?

I'd try to answer that to help Geri, if I might?

Our soil is Vertisol, a rather heavy black clay that's high in nutrients. The valley we're situated is an ancient lake bed. I'm thinking that the siberian peas would like a poorer soil and maybe better drainage or lighter soil. I planted some Elaeagnus angustifolia from seed and while this plant grows around the countryside in rocky outcrops or in recent excavations with very poor soil, it struggles in our soil. Most are less than 1 meter in size.... and they say it's invasive :D Well not in our garden it's not!

If time permits come autumn, I'll uproot one or two of those and plant them in a hole with a bucket of sand added and see what happens.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64168.03
ETH 3172.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84