Tree seedssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #permaculture5 years ago

One of our projects is to start hundreds of trees from seed. We're going to use those seedlings to try and create a new small forest in the place of another one that was removed some 80 years ago for agriculture.

So we use winter time to collect tree seeds of the two species that grow natively and well - black locust and ash.

That is a bucket of ash seeds on just 2 sqm in our yard, where we have an old ash tree.

And when we prune the black locust we grow as coppice in our new orchard, we keep the tops with the seed pods. Seeds have to be separated and then soaked in hot water before planting.

That is a good game for the kids, taking the seeds out! They like to eat the flowers of the black locust so they enjoy the idea of planting more of it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing! I run a restoration program for a local non-profit and I'm looking at planting more of our trees from seeds instead of pots. I would be really interested to see how yours turn out :) Plus, I'm also wanting to do the same on my homestead in the future. Thanks again for sharing!

Will try to post progress report! We have hundreds baby ash trees each year as there's still digging work done near the tree and the seeds thrive in disturbed soil! Sadly those babies usually die as there's no way to care for them. But we have hopes for the direct seeding the plot we have in mind.

Posted using Partiko Android

This is amazing! Not sure I would have the patience at my age, but I certainly admire the effort you are putting in.

We don't really have a choice as potted or even bare root 2 to 3 year old trees cost much much more than we can afford for that scale...

Posted using Partiko Android

I can see that for sure! When I was younger I had a lot more energy, I would have done it then, just not any more 😉

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00