You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cold Climate Permaculture Plants: Hybrid Hazel

in #permaculture6 years ago

We're about to do another bloodtest with my allergic kiddo. I'm hoping we've healed her gut enough that she can tolerate some variety of nuts. We were once playing in a friend's yard and the kids had been throwing some green walnuts around. We'd never seen walnuts in the green casing, so I didn't even think about it until her face started puffing up and I was giving her Benadryl ASAP! Luckily we've never had to use an Epi-pen.

Anyway, we really would like to grow some type of nut on the homestead and not worry about reactions if she accidentally touches it. Right now the only nut she can tolerate is almond, and I don't see many success stories of almonds in regions that get as cold as we do. I have had a few people recommend that she try hazelnuts as there tend to be less allergies to them than say pecans or walnuts.

Thanks for the super informative, but easy to read post! Two thumbs up!

Sort:  

I'm glad to hear that your daughter is showing some improvement. Fingers crossed that Hazel's will work for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67320.55
ETH 3709.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78