Hügelkultur - Back to Eden - Core Gardening... all rolled into one

in #permaculture6 years ago (edited)

DSCN3716.JPG

I am almost 50 and over 30 years in my trade-

Anything and everything Home Remodel...here's a before and after of my current bath remodel.

DSCN3614.JPG

I am waiting on the shower glass install and some other odds and ends before final images but here's current-
IMG-0516.JPG

I am about to make a shift...

I want to teach people how to grow food!

DSCN3683.JPG

I am taking ideas that I have seen online over the years and making my own adaptations.

DSCN3687.JPG

Over the next few weeks I will be posting photos of my progress and technique in hopes to both inspire people to DIY some food and possibly more importantly to receive feedback on my design. Not sure how many billion people have lived on this rock so would never be so boastful to say this has never been done before; it's just I've never seen it done this exact way.

What I am building is a 28' by 32' greenhouse that will be heated (even the soil) by a wood furnace in the winter months. I will suggest first off that July is not the month to try to pull off this build but I was able to work until 11:30 am yesterday before the heat index got up to 110F here in Nashville, TN.

Mae'ra kept me up till 2am last night barking at fireworks and my alarm did not wake me up so I pretty much screwed myself today as it's already pretty hot outside. I will be going to gather some materials for the greenhouse and get back in the dirt tonight for a few hours.
DSCN3672.JPG


DSCN3728.JPG

One of my goals is to grow vegetables year round and sell my product directly to small restaurants. Another goal would be to build small urban greenhouses and inspire people to start growing their own food. The first step is going to prove to myself (and to you) that what I am doing is actually going to work! I am confident that it will and again I will be sharing more detailed examples of what I am engineering over the next few weeks so please upvote, resteem and follow to help me get this information out there.

Thanks for checking this out and please leave a comment if you decide to follow me.

FBFlogo1.6.png

Sort:  

LOOKING so forward to watching you construct the greenhouse!
I will be so envious of it- heated... LARGE... just perfect!

Hey thanks, hopefully you can see how easy it is and have one of your own one day.

I am going to be building my own wood furnace and that is really going to be fun. If all goes according to plan I will build out both sides in the future so to have a 96' heated setup.

I am even looking into some geothermal cooling options but that is a dream for another day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60985.22
ETH 2914.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74