You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Second strike of the carbonaceous bandit

Are the leaves in the plastic bags really dry? Because we store any leaves we get in our 150 yr old tobacco shed, we have to be sure they are bone dry. We've found if people put leaves in plastic, they are often wet. Very nasty by spring time, when they thaw out.... We're afraid of spontaneous combustion. This town looses a barn every few years to it...

So if people have used plastic, we spread those first in the early winter.

Sort:  

Ooh, that's a really valid question. I may do well to transfer them all to paper bags, huh?

I saw someone, on a video I think, actually using them to cultivate fungus in plastic bags by pouring water in with the leaves and letting them set. With all I'm reading and learning about fungi, I may try that with a couple bags and leave them in the plastic. I'll have to look that video up again.

If they are wet, it would not serve to transfer them to paper. They need to be dry before going into any bag. But growing fungus or using them as mulch is an option...

Awesome, we'll save these ones specifically for that purpose then. The ones in the bigger bags felt quite dry, so we'll try and keep them that way. The others feel more suitable for mulch. I'll set them in a safe corner if I can think of one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63630.77
ETH 3179.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95