You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Siberian Pea Shrub 🌱 Abundant Soil Building, Food, Fodder & Seeds

in #permaculture5 years ago (edited)

I just love enjoying your beautifully laid out well done post @sagescrub. I think this Bush grows here very well, and there's lots of it and is called 'karagana'. I adore this wild bush! And, often ate the peas raw when i would play in the trees as a child. It's super cool to know we could actually harvest & enjoy these peas in meals like dahl. My mother would really think I'd lost it if i told her that! Very neat tidbit. Very very cool! #foodisfree

Sort:  

Thank you @yogajill! Yes! Caragana! I have never seen it in the wild, but I have known it in a few homesteads I visited or worked for and really appreciate this plant :) Haha!

I don't know if they are wild or not here. They can sure grow like mad crazy though. They make such a good boundary keeper. Such a wild bush! It's cool you took a liking to it. I feel like many see it as a nuisance around here. I've always had a fondness for it! The bees just love the blossoms. They get thick with buzzing.

That's the way I feel about blackberries around here. Farmers are annoyed with the invasive blackberries, but maybe they should just farm blackberries and sell jam and pies and syrup!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63867.81
ETH 3135.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84