Cutting people out like weeds

in #personal6 years ago

My tolerance level is extremely low. I don't put up with any kind of bullshit or offense. I honestly don't have the energy anymore to patiently plead my case when people are being stupid or critical.

A former friend made a lengthy facebook post all about me but without naming me, and it hurt my feelings a little, but mostly it showed me that I was right when I told her she was too dramatic for me to be friends with, so I blocked her. And her daughter and her mom. Blip. Gone. Out of my life. I don't have the energy or desire to deal with this made up dramatic bullshit.

Another person came on my facebook and started criticizing me saying I was disrespectful and some stupid shit like that. Nope, not playing that game, lady - Block.

This is not limited to social media.

My crazy aunt called me up and yelled at me about my mom, told me she wanted to put a bullet in my mom's brain, and I told her to stop saying shit like that to me. She said it again, and I said (approximately) "I said I don't want to hear that shit. Don't fucking call me again." And I hung up, and I have never spoken to her again in almost two years. Fuck that noise. You don't make threats against my family, you just fucking don't. You know? And I have no regrets whatsoever.

I don't know if this is a healthy way of living life. Maybe you're supposed to engage people and problem solve with them. But I don't have the time or patience to do this. I honestly don't care enough to fight with people. I hate fighting, it's always so ridiculous, arguing back and forth is unnecessary drama that I won't do. If you want a fight you're not getting it from me unless you're in my face literally and I have to knock you in the mouth but that's like last resort shit.

I know this post makes me sound like a big asshole but I really am a pretty nice lady. And I give people a lot of leeway, I don't go blocking people who see things differently than I do, or severing friendships over a little bit of nothing. I think my boundaries are clear, I don't accept people policing my language, I don't accept racism, fascism, or nazism, I don't accept personal attacks on me or my loved ones, I don't accept general assholery. I think that's a pretty simple and straightforward way to be.

Sort:  

I just had to lay down some lines in a similar way. It's important to protect your own well being as a sensitive person, allowing others that space to harm you is just no good.

My well being is worth preserving, if anyone js harming my well being, we are done.

Congratulations @theswampwitch! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

It is absolutely healthy and sensible to set up boundaries and prune unhealthy relationships/habits/beliefs from one's life. Congratulations!

If something or someone is holding you down, burn that bridge. There is a secret zipline down stream to get back, in the unlikely event that you made a mistake.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71