The Petals Contests #pinkflowerday "Angular Sea-Fig."

in #petals6 years ago (edited)

Angular Sea-Fig (Carpobrotus Glaucescens)

This is my entry for the Pink Flower Day Contest initiated by @petals, a popular series created by @adrianobalan and @sardrt

If you'd like to know more about this contest click here

The pink, Angular Sea-Fig (otherwise known as 'Pigface,') is a native plant of Australia. They are a species of flowering succulent plant belonging to the Ice Plant family. These lovely plants make great coastal groundcovers and thrive in Australia's more temperate regions.

E F beach flower macro.jpg

The leaves measure 3.5-10 cms in length and from 9-15 cms wide and the purple flowers grow from 3.2-6cms wide. The fruit pulp is actually edible although I have never eaten them, apparently their flavour is similar to salty strawberries or kiwifruit.

F Beach flowers.jpg

The skin needs to be discarded but the leaves can be cooked and used as preserved pickles. Another use for the fruit of the plant is the fact that they can be used into toffee or jam.

F Pigface.jpg

It was a beautiful day when I took these photos and I loved how the sun created a satiny sheen on the thin, purple petals.

Source:

Check out @petals other popular contests

#Rosesopenweekend

#Flowers

#Pinkflowersday

#Yellowflowerday

THANK YOU FOR VIEWING. HAVE A GREAT DAY.

qurator gif.gif

Sort:  

You just got a Team NZ upvote!

This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.

Why join discord room? Here are 10 reasons why.<

Enjoying the bump? Please consider supporting your fellow Kiwis with a delegation. How? Read here.

For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

I've seen it before, now i know what it is, will be paying more attention my next walk. Thank you @trudeehunter

Yes...….the are very common around our beach areas and sand dunes @steemulator I can't quite work out why they are called, ' Pigface.' Thanks very much for dropping by and adding your support. It is greatly appreciated.

❤️❤️❤️❤️

💖💖💖💖 returned with pleasure dear @coquiunlimited. Thanks very much for your welcome visit and support.

Always! Just wish I was able to be around to catch your posts more often, but Steem world is not so uncomplicated. 😅

Steemit can be very time consuming and I find it difficult to keep I touch with everyone I'd like to as well @coquiunlimted so it makes catching up whenever possible all the more valuable.

Indeed. Oh and congratulations on your 57 ranking. I knew you’d do well.

Thanks very much @coquiunlimited.....but do you know something I don't? Still sitting at 56 at the moment but hoping that will change before too much longer.

As far as I have observed posting everyday, answering/commenting and 3-4 blogs per day is what increases reputations. I’m stuck on stupid personally, because of lack of time and health.

So true......it does take a lot of time and effort to build our rep's here. I keep going out and taking photos and need somewhere to put them (lol) Plus steemit motivates me to step out of my comfort zone. It's good that you are able to visit when you can and I really hope you get a breakthrough in your health situation soon.

Very nice shots. It looks as if the weather is cooperating with you, there! Those flowers have a mess of stamen, don't they?

Thanks so much @fotosdenada Yes, the weather is being very co-operative at them moment and I am trying to get out to take photos while it is cooler. Once summer hits, it is much more of a challenge for me.

These flowers are very hardy and survive well in windy arid areas and give pleasure to us when we pause to admire them. I hope you will enjoy the rest of your weekend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94