You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Photography] Marguerites. The contests of Petals #yellowflowerday

in #petals6 years ago

Nice pictures. I believe the insect is actually a type of hoverfly or dronefly, not a bee, but it's fun to find insects to photograph like this. Thanks for sharing.

Sort:  

Thanks for your comment :-)
It's not easy to always determine the correct names of plants and animals. I disagree with you on this one, I don't think it's a hoverfly. My candidates for comparison were wasps, bees, and flying ants - my research resulting in wild bee because of its distinct body form and morphological features.

Cool, it's hard to see it well from this angle, but usually the shape/orientation of the wings is one of the best features to go by. But I'm glad to hear that you took the time to find the answer. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62858.15
ETH 3112.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90