MANGO MY WTF PARROT

in #pets6 years ago

Mango is my blue and gold Macaw which I have had for a couple of years now. He was a birthday present that almost wasn't. My friend Graham breeds parrots and exotic birds and I must do an article later on his park. It took us 3 hours to walk around so it is a story on it's own.

I went down to Graham's with my family in tow to go and choose a baby Macaw for my birthday . I have always wanted a Macaw as my other Parrot is an African Grey (Max) and he has been with me for around 14 years now. Anyway back to Mango, see how easily side tracked I get. Graham has a nursery at his avery which is full of baby parrots learning from a flock of lovebirds. They learn how to fly and preen etc and is an awesome sight.

My family and I were walking amongst the birds and their must have been about a dozen Macaws but different types. I had found a cute little feller that was bright red with a big white beak and he kept on flying to me. My selection process was over as the bird had chosen me and I was sold. WHOOOO hold your horses the family had chosen one sitting in the corner with a bloody toe. It's my choice and I am done and I will put a plaster on the other one and we are out of here. Nope we came home with the bloody foot bird a monster that bit you at every move.

It all turned out fine and now he is a fully grown blue and gold Macaw. I don't clip his wings as the vets want nothing to do with him. I was told to phone first before I come with him so they can leave the building lol. He is not that bad but I won't cut his claws (talons) or his wings and I am his mate so others don't stand a chance. He has a large indoor cage and an avery outside where he can fly if he wants to.

The only issue I have with him is that he is very noisy and has his moments. Normally around food time he lets you know he wants some of what you are having. It could even be a cup of coffee as he knows what is in your cup and wants to try it as well. Nothing goes unnoticed and crisps are his favorite snacks. He sits in the TV lounge as he likes company and the noise of family life as they are very sociable. Any sport with a whistle he loves as during rugby or football on tv he blows the whistle constantly. At times it can get confusing as the sound is spot on.

The worst is when your phone rings as he copies you and it is off putting. The African Grey rings the phone and they have a bloody conversation with hello and goodbyes and all rights. When we have visitors we don't say anything but guaranteed they hear some swear words and his favorite is wtf. He is a good mate but if he behaved more would have the run of the house.

The other animals give him a miss as he can bark like a dog, meow like a cat and talk so they are not sure about him at all. His beak will draw blood in an instant and even though he is playing it is not fun when it happens. On one occasion I read up that they like to shower and I foolishly took him for a shower with some clothes on thankfully. I don't know if there was more blood or water that went down the plughole in the first few minutes. It was his first and last shower and gets sprayed with a bottle from then on.

Owning a parrot is a big decision as they are for life and live for around 60 years. They are loads of fun and bring enjoyment and laughter every day. I will try load some clips of his bad behavior, but they are spontaneous and would take hours to catch them.

Sort:  

I didn’t know they lived that long. That’s class!

Posted using Partiko iOS

They may outlive me which seems weird. I will have to give them to my kids. They are not keen on the grey though as he literally attacks them. They teased him when they were younger so he has a good memory lol.

I used to crave having a parrot growing up, infact, i used to crave having a monkey and an elephant as well, i never got any of them, I grew up with dogs instead, excellent experience. Im still going to have a parrot in the nearest future, i paid for a rabbit some weeks back, havent gotten it yet, im sure it will be a crazy experience too

We have a zoo here but the parrots are mine. The African Grey is easier to look after and does sounds so well. Will do a post on him in the next few days. Max copies whatsup signal noise, phone charging, opening a can of coke etc and they are identical. I had a rabbit that was more like a dog. They like to chew furniture so beware lol.

Lol i know the experience with them is going to be awesome, when i was a kid, an aunt told us stories of talking parrots, my desire for them grew from thence

Congratulations @cryptoandcoffee! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

As I have been bitten a few times by my Female Bull Terrier , I understand! ( does not like you attempting to stop her murdering some other creature)

haha! howdy sir cryptoandcoffee! I love this post! so cool to learn about your wonderful house mates there sir...I knew they lived forever practically and people will them to their kids and so on but what is their intelligence level?

Are we talking 3rd grade level or a @blanchy type level..say 4th grade?

Hi @cryptoandcoffee!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.793 which ranks you at #12241 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 7 places in the last three days (old rank 12234).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 441 contributions, your post is ranked at #87.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87