Iggy

in #pets5 years ago

9607v3pbbp.jpg

Remembering Iggy

My Son's Bearded Dragon

So the other day I was enjoying a post by @animal-shelter that showed some really cool photos of Geckos! They are trained and come out for food. Be sure to check it out!!

th8wkibtqt.jpg

Of course that post reminded me of my son's bearded dragon that passed on last year. She was by far his favorite pet. He had her for over a decade and fawned over her every day!

hpu4vcyvbu.jpg

Yes Iggy is quite a strange name for a female I suppose lol. We did not know she was a female! It was not until a year or more after getting the dragon from the pet store that she had eggs!!

6knprnqu76.jpg

So thank you @animal-shelter for giving me the reason to do this post...so I can share her with my newer friends, and remember her once again.

8jo7tbpayy.jpg


Thanks for stopping by!

All words and images are mine and can be also found on my various social media sites.
Twitter
YouTube
Twenty20


Be Safe!! Don't get hacked! - Post with your posting key!

Sort:  

Who could ever forget Iggy? She was so beautiful and more than that was Ben's love for her.

I raise a glass tonight in memory of Iggy! She was a class act.

Upped and steemed

!tip

Oh yes she really got into our hearts like all of our pets. We went from 2 dogs and a dragon to none in about a year. We have not recovered yet. We have no plans to get anymore until the move though. Pet less certainly makes it easier yet they are really missed.

I'm sure that you will get another pet once you have resettled. Do you know what you want? Another dog seems to be on the agenda!

Or perhaps another horse? You will be in Horse Country!

Iggy was beauty and pretty unforgettable. There is a woman in the neighborhood that I run into every now and then. She has two and is apt to walk around with them perched on here shoulder. They appear pretty affectionate. I'm guessing they love the body heat. Some great shots of her, here. Paul:) Has your son thought of getting another.

Thanks so much for the kind words, Pryde. That is the cool thing about beardies, they are not shy, and they seem to bond to people.

Yes he would like to get one. They are so incredibly cute when young! They seem to have oversized heads that make them look like tiny dinosaurs... They are not expensive, easy to care for, not noisy or smelly. Quite the perfect pet :)

I saw a guy last night that I see now and then on the bike path-riding with an enormous cat on his shoulder, just watching the world go by as they go. But I've NEVER seen a person anywhere, with a lizard, let alone two, on their shoulder. You get all the good sightings, Pryde ( :
I hope you get back to Steeming, one day soon. Cheers.

Yep ... the things I see:)

It sounds like I really missed something by not knowing Iggy or even knowing a lizard could be loved so. I share an office/laundry room with a non caged grumpy guinea pig that cracks me up. I must say I love him. I'm going to have to give a bearded dragon more thought. Can they be potty trained?

He is a grumpy Guinea pig lol. Well I do know people take their dragons outside for a walk!

Nice to see photos once more of the Igster. Such a grand lizard. And still just as sad that she is gone. I hope Ben can get another, one day soon. Thanks for the nice tribute to a large part of the OGP family. Just think, you have a small dinosaur in your living room. Kind of boggles the mind. At least my small mind. Cheers my friend.

Yes these pets not only work into our lives but also our hearts as well!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

🎁 Hi @old-guy-photos! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

I have heard that they make wonderful pets and your son obviously loved him dearly. He is quite eye catching!

Oh thanks for those nice words.

I'm glad you got a chance to share this Iggy memorial! I have not seen any of her pics before, quite unique. All pets can become very special to us, no matter what their species.

Exactly right! Pets end up being a huge part of my life!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99