Shrimps feeding in Aquarium

in #pets6 years ago


I have recently bought myself some shrimps to start a small shrimp aquarium at home. These little animals are scavengers and will eat almost anything they can lay their "hands" on. They can survive in a tank by just eating the algae in the tank. I however feed them some special shrimp food as well as some boiled cucumber. I put the food in my wife's used teabag holder, the reason for this is that the shrimp food should be removed after a few hours if it was not eaten, as the rotting food is apparently not good for the shrimps. Just look at the action of eating, these little animals bite a small piece of food from the cucumber, with their tiny little pincers, which the then pass on to the next leg, which place it in their mouth. (I have read this, it happens so fast, I cannot really see if this is what is happening)

IMG_7784.jpg

Up to now, I haven't had any babies coming along but I hope to have some soon. In the mean time it is just nice to look at them going about their business.

I have taken the video with my iPhone at my house in Pretoria, South-Africa.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

@rynow,
You got a big fish tank! What other fish you are going to add there?

Cheers~

I am not going to add other fish with the shrimps, I have a separate tank with other fish, mostly guppies and mollies, but also 2 horse face loach's and some ansistris algea eaters and another type of algea eater.

Beautiful and lovely aquarium @rynow.

Wow... nice aquarium you have! May I confirm that the scavenger fish body is transparent?

Awesome dear.Thanks for sharing it.

Lovely aquarium and your shrimp are very cute! Thank you @rynow

Amazing looks!

That is a good experience to see Shrimps feeding in real life. the aquarium looks nice and clear @rynow

Oh yeah @rynow, your shrimp are just beauties and a great aquarium!

Beautiful looking!
Nice captured!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70135.32
ETH 3789.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77