Haunting Nominations (Top3 October contest)

in #phctop35 years ago (edited)

https://youtu.be/q6-ZGAGcJrk

Time to share some Halloween joy! I love sharing music and creepy things. I may just share one in every post I make just to get in the Halloween spirit a bit more.

This month's contest topic is scary characters.

Seriously though, 3 is not enough. I had to do some serious thinking to find a way to narrow things down. From movies to books, to myths and legends, there's so many!

As I wrap myself in a blanket and write this post in daylight, I am now able to feel more safe in writing this post 🎃

#1

Evil Spirits

I couldn't think of my top evil spirit since they are all demonicaly, insanely scary. No matter what beliefs you have there is always something about a bad spirit and since we all carry spirits within ourselves, I have become to believe that if there is an evil purpose, ones spirit could become corrupted and overtaken, aka possessed. Imagine having your spirit trapped in your body, being tortured by a demon while it controls and tortures your body and the same time and no matter how much you try to fight it off, it's still not enough against this strong evil.

Movies like The Exorcist and The Devil Inside has left me with fear that lasted days. That feeling of always having to watch your back and pray out loud saying "YOU ARE NOT WELXOME HERE!" I've seen The Exorcist more than once but the other...I won't touch it again.

I once had a dream that gave me the slight feeling of what it could be like to be possessed.
I was with a few friends going to a pool house. Inside it was completely empty as though it had been abandoned and yet remained clean. I walked around the pool as we got excited to start partying when I fell in. I sank to the bottom of the pool, and all of a sudden there was so much black hair. Hair that stopped me from surfacing for air. I was panicking, struggling and weakening from the fight for my life. The hair started to thin out and I was able to surface. But I felt different.

When I got out I noticed that hair was now mine, covering my face. My friends would come close to me to see if I was ok. This evil took over me and killed me friends one by one. I tried to stop, I tried to scream at them to run but nothing came out of my mouth. It was drowning my friends in the shallow end of the pool using my body.

It left me when they were all killed and I was the only one left to deal with the horror.

For a few days after this dream, I could safely say that I wasn't the same. It had quite the effect on me and was hard to brush it off.

👻

#2

Zombies

I'm sure you have seen a zombie movie like Zombieland or Night Of The Living Dead by now or at least a TV series like The Walking Dead.

They all show mass destruction, the dead eating people and then turning into zombies after, and people killing people for pure survival for a safe place to live, weapons and food.

The reason why I chose zombies is because of the science and legends behind it.

In the science and medical field, so much crap is being made, from vaccines to even hazardous weapons, I believe it's only a matter of time before they stumble upon the right recipe to create some virus that could make something like this happen (if it hasn't happened yet 😜).

There has even been an illness of sorts where people have thought to have been dead and come back to life and was talked about a few years back. I'm trying to find it as I can't remember the name of it but internet is half failing me today. And by half I mean it's just overflowing the feed with zombie deer and zombie ants. Apparently a huge thing is happening to our deer in the eastern side of the world, taking a quick look, it looks like a bacteria thing happening similar to mad cow disease.

On another note there is a legend about the Wendigo. It is an Algonquin legend from a long time ago that talks about an illness that spread over the western people that originated from those who were starving. They became cannibalistic, eating the people and pretty much turned into a zombie like monster. The Algonquin people knew of this and would hold ceremony in order to keep the evil being away.

So tell me, what do you think is possible when it comes to zombies? 🧟‍♀️

#3

Vampires

All time favorite, but not so creepy in the movies. They are seen more as romantics, heck even I see them as sexy creatures that can kill you with the snap of a wrist.

Would I ever want to be a vampire? HELL YES!! Who wouldn't? Although perhaps I would have enjoyed being reborn around the same time as Louis or Lestat like in the movie Interview With The Vampire. Starting today to live forever... I'm scared of what our future looks like!

But my all-time favorite vampire, like many others, is Dracula. Please tell me you know of Dracula. From either the books, movies or just plain legend of Vlad the Impaler. I mean this guy is bad ass!
If you don't know, do the research. It would take 5 other, days long posts to just tell you about it all. But here is a trailer to the best movie ever made!! And it includes, the awesome actor, Gary Oldman:

https://youtu.be/PlDbxogHPao

Actually, I think I'm going to watch this movie tonight. (I've seen it like 50 times already.)

The vampire tales started years ago and is told my many cultures with slight differences and even from ancient Egypt. Seriously, long time living Legends, right?

Even today in places like New Orleans hold vampire cultures and will even have people offering them their blood to feed on.

Care for a taste my lord? 🧛🦇🧛‍♂️

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

PHCTOP3 is a monthly contest with every month being a new topic. If you would like to join this awesome contest for a chance to win some serious prize amounts, click on the link below, everyone can join 😈

https://steemit.com/phctop3/@phctop3/phc-top-3-monthly-contest-october-2019-share-your-top-3-to-win-a-steem-prize

I am a panel member, along with @plantstoplanks, @nickyhavey, @cheese4ead. My nominations will not be included in the contest but the post is created to add to the prize pool and perhaps give some inspiration 😉🦹

Posted using Partiko Android

Images from pixabay.com

Sort:  

@foxyspirit,

Great post!! I would say Evil Spirits out of all of these would be my choice really... I know plenty of people that could qualify as Zombies or Vampires...

And.... you had me at Gary Oldman!! Enjoyed reading this, and an excellent choice for the #phctop3!

Thank you!

Haha we can definitely question some People, cell phone age brings out the natural zombies in us all haha.

Gary Oldman is the king!

Posted using Partiko Android

The dark foxyspirit has spoken haha! Classic picks here and I'll certainly be looking over my shoulder now after reading this!

NH

Well if they don't appear in your dreams you are good to go 😁

I forgot to mention how many times I've dreamed of zombies and vampires. Although zombies in killing like flies.

Ok, Queen of Top 3 Darkness has arrived (great effort on posting with Partiko btw, holy crap!)

Evil spirits and your dream sounds like a horrible experience! Wow, I felt like I was reliving it with you and my goodness, I'll probably have nightmares about it too. I was screaming on the inside as well :( Don't let those bastard spirits in again hey!

Zombies... yes, always had a fascination with these things ever since I played Call of Duty World at War when you finish the game and unlock the Nazi Zombie survival mode... I became addicted to head shots! Aim for the head, they die quicker!

The Resident Evil movie seems to play on the concept of "reanimation" which they believe is true because finger nails and hair appear to grow for a few days after death... The producers thought there was some merit in this but actually, it's rather the skin becoming dehydrated (or something like that) which gives the illusion of hair growing and nails growing. Either way, they are pretty scare in Dawn of the Dead. Shaun of the Dead is probably my favourite zombie film I'd say. 28 days later... fricking scary

Vampires... why am I not surprised this got a mention in your post :P Queen's Black Boots kinda gave us some insight but you sure bring out the sexy in the vampire with your posts. I know the main allure of vampires is their charm but don't be fooled... and don't invite them in to your house! Otherwise we will need to summon our inner bad breath and get all garlicy... and then silvery... and stakey!

OK, back to spreadsheets, nothing scary in there... well... other than this month's nominations of course! :D

Muahahahahaha! Lol

It took a while to write it on here but worth it.

Ya I'm hoping to never have a dream like that again. No clue as to what has sparked that either. Perhaps it was something that I needed to see for some reason.

I know exactly what game you are talking about. I have it here but never completed it to get the zombie part. #timemanagement lol.

R.E is the Bomb! The games are as well. 28 days later has been a favorite too, have you seen 28 weeks later?

Vampires all the way dude! I would definitely welcome them in. If only to turn me into one as well 😁

And don't worry, Yuki's story isn't over. I just need more time and the right time in the right mindset to get back to it. I have to finish it! Maybe 2-3 more parts left.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for this epic reply! I forgot to ask.. did you sleep well? 😜

Posted using Partiko Android

Great post.! The Exorcist was a one and done for me! Very disturbing for my whole family! Since the I pass on any demonic possession type of movies.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks! Very wise to pass them on. I can't say why I dive in myself 😅

Posted using Partiko Android

I knew you would put forth a great post for this month! It was so much fun chatting leading up to this, that it's fun to finally see it come to light (because you always need a little balance with the darkness...) That dream sounds super freaky. It would definitely take me a while to recover from that one. I almost drowned once as a kid stuck underneath a pool float, so that alone is creepy enough let alone what happened after!

Any movies with evil spirits are usually the scariest to me. Just like you said, it's the not being able to get away and protect yourself that terrifies me the most. A regular serial killer you at least have a shot, but if it's a corporeal being you're screwed! I tend to like zombie and vampire movies, as I think we've discussed before. :) Bram Stoker's Dracula is a classic. I love Anthony Hopkins and Winona Rider, too. Which makes me think...nobody has picked the Demogorgon from Stranger Things yet!

Thank you! So much more could have been said!

I do enjoy zombie movies as well. What scares me is the possibility of it happening for real and I lose my kids...like in the movies. I'll just do like one dream I had and sit on top of my house (barricaded of course) and head shot everything that gets close. Lol.

When reading the first part of what happened to you, right away I felt the struggle to breathe. Ok so this conversation is leading to another top 3 topic in the future. Top 3 greatest fears! There aren't enough October's in a year.

We need to shout out to more people if no one has mentioned the demogorgon. Time to share!! Go go go!

As usual I keep thinking of choices I totally forgot about when making my post! I thought of the top fears with a few of the other picks so far (like heights and snakes). It would be another good one for sure!

Fab choices, @foxyspirit. Phew! What a dream of you being possessed and killing your friends.
Good luck in the contest! 😊 👻 🦇

Yeah hopefully no more of those 😄

I am a panel member so my choices won't be put up. Half the payout on this post will go in the prize pool though.

Excellent choices @foxyspirit,

No-one wants a hoard of zombies coming after them :)

Makes me wonder if I'm north enough to be away from a zombie apocalypse 🤔😆

Oh yes zombies and vampires good options, no one wants to walk around with fear that someone else will suck his brain or blood, that horrifying! the first option I have not seen, but nothing else by the image must be spooky!

Thanks for checking out my post 😁

Definitely don't want any of them to be lurking around. Stay safe this month! Never know what's around the corner 🦇

Awesome! Demons/spirits/devils/whathaveyou that possess people have always been a factor for me, as well. The idea of having something other than yourself, and evil!, in control is frightening indeed.

Have you seen Nosferatu? 1920's or so silent movie about Dracula. I love it. I have a number of silent 'B flick' horror movies that are more funny than scary. Now that I'm thinking about it, I might need to watch them again.

I have seen a couple vampire movies from way back when and the zombie ones. They were quite funny but hey, they shaped everything to what we have today.

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree.. You had me at Gary Oldman. I don't know what it is about him but...rar!
Great choices. I thoroughly enjoy them all. I know I'm twisted. 😁

Oh man yes Gary mmmMmmmMmMmMMM lol. Have you seen him in Immortal Beloved when he plays as Bethoven? Nicely done. That man is a damn great actor!

And for twisted, you and me both my friend!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63672.27
ETH 3126.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87