My Top 3 Comedy Movies - Home Alone / American Pie & Dumb and Dumber (PHCTOP3 Entry)

in #phctop35 years ago (edited)



I have watched my fair share of comedy movies and there are always the key ones that stand out. You know the ones that spawn famous one liners and provide us with endless GIF/MEME making material.

I can vaguely remember the first time I watched each of these movies but I can tell you with 100% certainty I watched them all at least a half dozen times each or more and even though I have watched them so many times, if I was to watch one today they would likely make me laugh just as hard as I did the first time watching them. For that reason my three picks for this weeks PHCTOP3 Contest are Home Alone, American Pie and Dumb and Dumber.

Home Alone

First Up Is Home Alone

A classic that still holds up today. This spawned multiple sequels but I'm going to pretend that it only has one (Home Alone 2: Lost in New York) which is also a very funny movie. I don't think I ever met someone who hasn't liked this movie. Its a great family friendly movie that can be watched with the kids and adults alike. As far as family friendly comedy movies go it doesn't get much better then Home Alone.

American Pie

Next Up Is American Pie

All I can say is WOW .... this movie is one big laugh reel and is ridiculous funny. It was so successful that it spawned 8 sequels. Four of those sequels have the original cast in them and are what I consider to be some of the funniest comedy movies created. The other four has some notable returning cast mates in them but I consider them to be spin off movies rather then official sequels. If you haven't watched American Pie yet then I would highly suggest that you do. Now excuse me as I go and enjoy some warm apple pie.

Dumb And Dumber

Next Up Is Dumb And Dumber

If you haven't watched Dumb and Dumber yet then you are doing yourself a serious displeasure. There is comedy movies that are funny and then there is movies like Dumb and Dumber that spawned one liners that have outlasted the trendy of trends. I can still remember the famous line at the end of the movie that I am sure most of us have heard or even used at some point, " So you're telling me there's a chance" or the famous one liner, "You had two pairs of gloves this whole time".

How To Enter The PHCTOP3 Contest



1 - Create a blog post with your top 3 nominations along with your reasoning behind them. You must use the #phctop3 tag

2 - Put a link to your contest post entry in the comments section of the official contest post.

3 - Set your post payout to 50/50. You keep the SP and then transfer the STEEM or SBD (whichever is paid out at the time) to @phctop3 with a link to your blog post entry in the transfer memo.

The deadline for submitting is the 9th April 2019 so you will have to hurry if you want to enter this months contest but if you missed out don't worry as the PHCTOP3 contest is a monthly event. To learn more about how this contest works click HERE.

Win FREE STEEM Daily Via Playing Steem-Monsters !.

What is @steemmonsters ?

Steem-Monsters is a digital card game created by @aggroed and @yabapmatt. Early game release has launched and prizes are already up for grabs. Some of the cards in this game have already sold for upwards of $3000. Prize tournaments have started with thousands of dollars in Steem already given out as prizes. If you haven't checked out Steem-Monsters yet do so by clicking here. You can sign up to the official site using your Steem details.

Click Here To Sign Up To Steem-Monsters !

Sort:  

garbage choices buddy:

Animal house #1

You've given me an idea for a blog post:
I'm going to get a list of the top 50 funny movies of all time.

That's crazy talk .....

All three of those movies in my topic are hilarious :P

I will have to give Animal house a watch !

I agree with jesse

if you've never seen animal house , slapshot, it's a mad mad mad world , history of the world part 1, blazing saddles, bananas, Airplane, MASH, The Original Ghost Busters, Ace Ventura Pet Dectective....you can't talk about FUNNY MOVIES... the movies you stated have cute smile moments....those movies I just listed are hilarious.

I watched the majority of the movies you have listed and some of them are very funny. Ghost Busters is a classic but I wouldn't rate it anywhere near as funny as the movies I listed ..... Ace Ventura Pet Dectective is hilarious.

We have launched the dpoll and here is the link: dpoll

Don’t forget to vote and tell your friends too. Best of luck.

The PHC Top 3 Team

PHC Top 3 - Blog Header Image.png

Thanks, I have voted :)

All three of your picks are solid @rentmoney, I almost went with two of them. Good luck 🤞

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, your picks are solid as well.

So many comedy movies to pick from its hard picking three :)

Thank you, I'm wondering how the dPoll is going to look like.

Posted using Partiko Android

... everyone has made some good choices.

It will be interesting to see what movies rank highest.

Nice ones! Like @cheese4ead, I'm surprised it took so long for American Pie to come up! Definitely makes you look at apple pie in a totally new way, haha. You are so right on with the one-liners from Dumb and Dumber. Not to mention the renewed sales in monochromatic tuxedos. 🤣

So many classic moments in dumb and dumber. The whole movie is almost one giant MEME.

Thanks for these awesome suggestions for our contest this month! We've given you an upvote and logged your nominations, ready for the dpoll - keep an eye on our blog for the dpoll post!

Remember to transfer 50% of the post payout as SBD to @phctop3 with a link to your entry in the memo, otherwise it won't be eligible.

text16.png

Thank you for entering with a great post and three really cool movie selections. I'm sure they will prove popular in the dpoll.

Best of luck in the contest @rentmoney

PHC Top 3 - Blog Header Image.png

Thanks for the cool contest.

I look forward to seeing all the nominations in the dpoll.

Awesome! Thanks for sending over your entry fee, just letting you know that I've added you in with your nominations now!

Good luck and keep your eyes peeled for the upcoming dpoll between 16th - 18th where we put it to the public vote and let the Steem community decide their top 3 :)

text16.png

G

PHC Top 3 - Blog Header Image.png

Thanks, I will keep an eye out for the poll.

You got a 100.00% upvote worth $0.069 from @upvotewhale courtesy of @rentmoney!

Great choices @rentmoney

Home Alone is a Christmas time, once a year thing in our household. Macaulay Culkin's performance at 10 years old is incredible. So funny and heart warming at the same time. A classic.

I think you are the first to nominate American Pie and that is a bit of a shock really. What a cracking movie with some painfully funny moments. Mmmmmmm! Warm apple pie!

Dumb and Dumber is just madness and stupidity combined to form a hilarious and brilliantly put together movie. Can you imagine being on set when those guys were doing there thing! It must have been mental.

Great job with the choices and best of luck with the contest. The @phctop3 account will be along shortly.

Cheers, Gaz.

Thanks, I haven't checked the other entries yet but I am surprised to hear American Pie hasn't been nominated yet. What a hilarious movie ... it still cracks me up to this day.

That Dumb and Dumber set must have been madness.

You got a 25.37% upvote from @bid4joy courtesy of @rentmoney!

Saw them multiple times and love them all.
I never watched them in their original language though so I’m sure something got lost in translation (I noticed this when I recently watched Ace Ventura). I need to fix this next weekend =}

Ace Ventura ...... its been awhile since I seen that one.

That movie is hilarious also.

Dumb and dumber! YES! I'm happy to see another one of Jim Carrey's movie up in the contest :D

Thanks for bringing some great choices to the contest ^_^

Jim Carrey has some good ones.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60913.71
ETH 2919.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71