TATTOOS HAVE STORIES TOO

in #philippines6 years ago
My skin “popped its cherry” January 13, 2011. The artist who worked on it, believe it or not, was my bestbud, Josh. I remember on that day, instead of paying my pal for my tattoo, I gave him a Ginabot meal treat just a few meters away from Crol’s Tattoo Shop [it was located in Escario back then]. At first, I got really nervous. I didn’t know how much it’d hurt. But when the session started, it turned out to be just relaxed. Really painful in some parts, but at the end, it was all worth it.

tumblr_lrtm1cygr21qglkkoo1_500.jpg

The tattoo is a line-art design of the beach here in Cebu. More specifically in Badian. The outline is a large water drop and inside is what usually comprises the beach- the clouds, the waves, some mountains, and the rays of the sun that gives your skin that pleasing burn. I’ve always thought of getting a tropically inspired tattoo. And when I saw this online, without any hesitation, I was in love with it. I then sent a text to my pal informing him that I finally have a design and it was go time. Well it took at least weeks to make this happen. lol

Anyway, I chose this design because, well of course, I. LOVE. THE. BEACH. If you can’t tell then you might wanna click on www.instagram.com/adongknowyou. plug plug plug LOL And that design was perfect. The placement of this tattoo also has a meaning. I chose to place it on my left chest for it will always be close to my heart. As cheesy as it may sound, for me every tattoo has to have its own story.

Until this day, I want to give a huge thank you to mi hermano for a long time, Josh, for this. Because he deserves every bit of happiness and blessing life has to give him.


Alchemy - is a philosophical and protoscientific tradition practiced throughout Europe, Africa and Asia.It aimed to purify, mature, and perfect certain objects.

SOURCE: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alchemy

2nd ink.jpg

This one is a bit customized. It still got its internet influences but yep, custom. These are alchemy symbols. The upside-down-headphones looking thing means "To purify" and the one that looks like a sleeping lightning bolt means "water". That tiny letter C that’s wearing a cute hat is not alchemy, but it’s actually a medical abbreviation for "with". (if you’re laughing at my silly ass punch lines then let’s be friends forever!) So if you put it altogether, it says "To purify with water"

All jokes aside, I got this tattoo because it explains a lot about the power of what I consider my element; water. I don’t want to go through so much detail but basically every time I get sick I just drink a lot of water. Whenever I feel homesick, I go to the beach. When there’s a time where the mind is in a stagnant state, tired of all the thinking, I’ll just calm down and let all those worries flow. And lastly, when presented with a problem where modifying or adapting to the current situation is needed.

“You must be shapeless, formless, like water. When you pour water in a cup, it becomes the cup. When you pour water in a bottle, it becomes the bottle. When you pour water in a teapot, it becomes the teapot. Water can drip and it can crash. Become like water my friend.” -Bruce Lee


Third one is definitely a funny story…

IMG_3095.JPG

Back in college, I was in a group (or ”barkada” as what we call it here locally) of people where most of us shifted to the same course, thinking that “meh this phase will definitely be different!” Little do we know we got ourselves in one of the craziest, most stupid, adrenaline-filled(?) connections; a brotherhood. During class breaks we would do this thing where we’d go to our usual hang-out place and each of us would get a Coke Sakto and a cigarette. It became an everyday thing because aside of the habit, it would usually lead us to talking about the most random stuff; from shallow conversations about parties to the more serious things about relationships, goals, family, etc. Basically, about life.

Back to the story of the tattoo (which is what we’re here for duh), one of the homies (Dhudz) who has been living in Ohio for a couple years decided to come back to Cebu for a quick catch-up. We were going out almost every day since he arrived; coffee breaks during the day, beerpong with other people at night. One hang out we had, we started talking about tattoos. The conversation went on an don then it suddenly occurred to us, why don’t we get one of those symbolic tattoos where every brother gets one of the same design. BOOM! After a few days, the session was on.

Two of us got it on the same day and thought that we’d send it to our other homie (BJ) who’s living in Gold Coast, Australia. By the time it was done, we sent our shots to him and went on for the rest of the day. A day after that we got his reply and unexpectedly said that if it’s okay to just get a henna (not permanent) tattoo of it instead of a permanent one. We were shocked because we were so sure that he’d be down with what we were doing. But then it was mutually agreed that it’s fine if he won’t get it on him. Now, it turned out to be more of a couple tattoo.

But guess what, NO. FREAKIN. REGRETS!

I was thrilled of sharing a tattoo with someone who’s going to be a homeboy and be there for me for a really long time. Someone who is a complete opposite in terms of attitudes and crazy antics, but also entirely unified in a chill, low-key, goal-oriented mindset. And that’s why we chose this design because it symbolized our brotherhood; where everything started. It symbolizes that how far are we from each other, even if we live in different continents, we’ll still be the same crazy-ass kids chilling and talking at Ate Rose’s Carenderia, blowing smoke inside a Sakto bottle.

P.S. Me and Dhudz actually share the same birthday, only a year apart. (cue in cheesy bro vibes)

Deuces

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @adongknowyou to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65457.15
ETH 2939.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68