Tropical Storm Vinta Has Brought Misery To My City Like Tropical Storm Sendong Before

in #philippines6 years ago (edited)

Today, Dec. 22, 2017, Tropical Storm Vinta has brought heavy rains causing flash floods in my city of Cagayan de Oro and the surrounding provinces. The heavy rains brought water from the mountains to the rivers, making them overflow their banks.

The floods damaged properties, homes, businesses, and livestock. People had to be evacuated from their homes and they had to seek shelter in evacuation centers.

It was a damn less stronger repeat of severe Tropical Storm Washi, known in the Philippines as Tropical Storm Sendong, which was a late-season tropical cyclone that caused catastrophic damage in the Philippines in late 2011. Our older rented house during that time got flooded too.

Aerial video view of Cagayan de Oro City during the wrath of Typhoon Sendong. Video courtesy of National Grid Corporation of the Philippines (NGCP).

But fortunately this time, our current rented home was on safer ground but my sister-in-law's family home wasn't so lucky . These are my brother's pics.

My sister-in-law's family's house, the white one in the center, covered by flood waters.

Their neighbor's house.

These are the other photos of the damages caused by the flood taken by my father.

The city's volunteer rescue (wearing orange) in action.


Families affected by the floods seek shelter in a local sports gym converted into an evacuation center.

Video of the damage of Tropical Storm Vinta caught by drone.

I am saddened that this calamity happened when Christmas is just around the corner. With God's help, I hope the next year would be better for all of us.

Sort:  

..my uncle leaves in CDO,in Agora near the fish pond and our family here in Cebu keeps on calling him to check out if there safe and felt relieve after they call telling us theyre safe
..thank god everyone is safe sir @darthnava

Thank God they are safe. The flooding is dreadful.

Oh dear @darthnava, I'm so sorry to hear about this sad news.

I am saddened that this calamity happened when Christmas is just around the corner. With God's help, I hope the next year would be better for all of us.

God will have better plans for you, so just wait. Storm are not good but I still wish and pray it proves to be a blessing in disguise for all of you.

Stay safe dear @darthnava.

Thank you for the comforting words, my friend.

It's a pleasure and you're very welcome. Feel for the people. Stay safe and stay strong bro.

That is terrible. I will be praying for you all. Thank you for sharing this. I don't see this often as I do not watch the news.
Much love and light,
X

Thank you for caring.

Back in December, 2011 when I was in Peshawar, Pakistan I heard this sad news that:
Philippines has faced a Severe Tropical Storm Washi resultantly, a great loss was happened there. Here are some facts which I have taken from Wikipedia:

Total fatalities:
2,546
total Damage:
$97.8 million
Affected areas:
Philippines, Cagayan de Oro, Palau,

Dear @darthnava in this crucial time there at Vinta you people has faced another shock. I can't do anything for you but my all best wishes are with you. I pray that everything will fine soon, so that you guys could enjoy the happiness of CHRISTMAS All the very best for better time. Stay Blessed!

Your words mean a lot, thank you.

My uncle house is in macanhan overlooking to the river. They called me earlier that they witnessed the water covered houses along the river. My prayers for the affected people. I'm just here in uptown cdo.

Hope you are safe.

In God's grace,yes I am safe here. Thank you @darthnava.

grabe pala nagyari jan sa inyo sir,
sa samar at tacloban gaun din po, binaha din
dito nman sa Southern leyte parang ok lang siguro kasi hindi nman masyado malakas ulan dito at wala din patag na lugar,

ganyan talaga,
may mga pagsubok talaga na dapat maranasan
pero malalagpasan din yan sir
makita mo rin na may malasakit an bawat pilipino at magtututlungan,
magiging ok din lahat jan sir!
God is with us

Stay safe too Albert! I really hope this is the end of the typhoons.

This is really sad, not only because it happened just a few days before Christmas but more on because it had to happen.

Hope everybody affected by these flood get to recover very soon!

Nonetheless, hope you guys still have a wonderful Christmas ahead.

Thank you for cheering me up.

U5dt4MVLNUUuxzDpsJKnEKGp2b833f9_1680x8400.jpeg

Sad to see the flood disaster in the Philippines, the last few days Aceh also experienced it, many rice fields look like the sea.

Yes, global warming has just begun its terrible toll.

I came to your page looking to see if you are ok. I'm glad to see you are. I am so sorry about what's happened to your city, please know #SteemPh is already talking about relief efforts.

If you can come to discord so we can chat, I'd appreciate it.

Stay Safe! 🙏

Thanks, I will check up on you there.

Yeah the cold winds coming from the north just pushes the storms down the central and southern Philippines. So I hope no other storms will follow and people should just get ready for any eventualities like this calamity.

Yeah, it wasn't like this when I was a kid. Deforestation and global warming is a killer combination.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62486.49
ETH 3015.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93