Project Healthy Body 2019

in #philippines5 years ago (edited)

For two years, I've been ignoring the significant amount of weight I'm gaining. When I started working, I only weighed 48 kgs. Now, I weigh between 58.5 to 59.5 kgs. Although I'm not overweight (yet), I panicked. I'm 3 kgs close to being an overweight!


Here's a timeline of how drastic the change is:

1st Q of 2016 ----------------------- 48 Kgs
4th Q of 2017 ----------------------- 52 Kgs
1st Q of 2018 - January 2019 --- 56 Kgs
February 2019 --------------------- 57 - 58 Kgs
Last Week of March 2019 ------- 59 - almost 60 Kgs

Height: 5'2"

I computed my Body Mass Index (BMI) and that's how I knew the nearing danger. The formula is: BMI = weight (kg) / [height(m)] 2. You can also utilize this BMI calculator from cdc.gov.


Day 1-2

In the first two days of knowing how close I am to being an overweight, @jcdeveza and I went on a run to lose some calories and we did! but it was so tiring that the next day, we settled to eat less rather than workout everyday.


Day 3

We started eating few calories. Based on my hours of research (google search :D ), it's the most effective way if you're not physically active.

My total calorie intake for this day reached 1000 -- it's the minimum calorie intake one person should consume. This is quite hard esp that a body needs 1500/1800 - 2000 calories each day. Having 1k calorie intake a day is like the "bottom." No one should lose beyond that or else there will be health repercussions.

You may feel fatigue, dizziness, and other things. JC was feeling these signs because he only consumed almost 600 calories. A very alarming count for him since he's a man and he walks 50 mins - 1 hr everyday. I reminded him about the risk so he promised to eat more on the 4th day.

Here's what I ate on day 3:

  • Breakfast - 1/4 cup of white rice and 1/2 cup of boiled cabbage drizzled in spicy fish sauce;
  • Lunch - only drank 1 large Coco Roasted Tea (30% sugar);
  • Snack - 1 medium size ripe mango and 1 cup of cold buko juice (with artificial sugar);
  • Dinner - 2 servings of vegan spanish-style sardines pasta with kesong puti.

LRM_EXPORT_17178376659357_20190401_221028438.jpeg

Additional Note: I downloaded the Nike Training app which @glenduuuuuh recommended. I followed one workout for beginners, there's no equipment needed, and I lost 80 calories for 16 minutes. Not bad, right? I think I'm doing better with planned workouts rather than random runs.


Day 4

The day I'm writing this entry is day 4!

Here's what I've eaten so far (time check: 4:11 P.M.):

  • Breakfast - None. I was running late. I usually don't eat breakfast since I'm always a buzzer beater;
  • Lunch - 1 cup of white rice and 1 cup of sauteed pechay with few chicken tidbits;
  • Snack - 1 serving (85 ml) of Lotte Food Strawberry Yogurt Ice Cream! (tempted to eat the blueberry flavor = 190 calories x 2);
  • Dinner - I'm still thinking what to cook later but maybe some stir-fried or blanched veggies would do.

IMG_20190329_221525.jpg


Writing about food makes me hungry! I am planning to do the "calorie cycling" I read in one of the threads in Quora. It's like a calorie-deficit system where you can eat more next day to compensate for the amount of calories you didn't eat today.

So far, I've lost 1 - 2 kgs in 3 days. This morning , I weighed 57.30 kgs but it's bouncing back to 58 kgs if I'm eating a full meal.


Disclaimer: I'm not recommending the combination of meals I ate. It's better to consult your doctor or dietitian for a safer diet! If you have money to spare, I suggest you try those gourmet food deliveries wherein they prepare your food for 5 days to 1 week according to your diet. As for me, I am only computing the calories myself and my timeline is to lose 9 kgs in 2-3 months.

Sort:  

So proud of you for doing this!!! Rooting for you!!! :)

Thank you! 😘

Congratulations @debilog! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Congratulations @debilog! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62829.19
ETH 3026.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61