An Encounter with the Gentle Giant

in #philippines7 years ago

I've always loved the idea of being in the ocean. Blue, cold and crystal clear water, beautiful corals and many different kinds of fishes. What always worries me is the thought that there might be a shark underneath the majestic ocean. You know the movies about sharks such as 'Jaws' , 'The Shallows' and the likes? I have watched plenty of movies about sharks and how they attack humans; how they eat the flesh out of those innocent human. That made me cringe! And since then, I've always been afraid of them. Sure, I could watch them swim behind the thick walls in Ocean parks' big aquariums but to swim with them? Nah, never gonna happen. Or so I thought..

GPTempDownload.jpg

Part of our Cebu tour includes whale shark (locally referred as Butanding) watching. Seems horrifying for someone like me,eh? You would need to pay P500 to be able to interact or swim with these whale sharks for only 30minutes. Life vests and snorkeling gear are already provided.

Before the big event, I already told my boyfriend that I would come with them but I would just watch the whalesharks from the small boat. I'm too afraid to come near them despite their being 'gentle'.

We woke up early in the morning to prepare for the activity. The activity starts at 6am. We didn't even bother to take a bath because the water is salty anyway.

IMG_0299.JPG
(Here's our photo going to the activity area. It's a 3-5mins drive from our Inn)

Before starting with the activity, all of the guests were asked to sit down and attend the quick orientation to discuss about the do's and don'ts of whale shark interaction.

Do's & Dont's:

•Do keep a distance from the whale sharks
•Do not touch or ride the whale sharks or block its way
•Do not use flash when taking photos
•Do not put on Sunblock lotion when swimming with the whaleshark as the chemicals might be harmful to them.
•No jumping from the boat

IMG_0297.JPG
(Briefing area)

We rode the boat and we instantly smell something off. It was coming from the food that the tour guides are feeding to the whalesharks. It was shrimps or krill I guess. Upon reaching the spot where the whale sharks are swimming, people from
the boat started to go down in the water. I was hesitant at first but soon enough, I went down in the water with them.

IMG_0298.JPG
(Here's a picture of us getting on the boat.)

The first time I saw them in water, I was very amazed. It was very surreal, I could only see them before in Geographic channel and I cannot believe that I'm looking at the real thing at that moment. They are indeed huge, they are the size of a shuttle bus! I even saw bigger ones.

IMG_0296.JPG

A few minutes after, I could see a giant whale shark approaching us. I literally jumped back at the boat as I panicked and then come back in the water after. 😂 I guess I'm still not comfortable being around them. They seemed to be clingy because they really go near us and there was also an instance where they swam under us I was so nervous. 😂

GPTempDownload.jpg
These whale sharks come here only for a season because of food and when they leave, new batch of whale sharks come.

I do not have a photo with these giants because I was very tensed. Lol. So here's a photo of my boyfriend instead.

GPTempDownload.jpg

If you ask me if I would do it again, I definitely will. It was a very nice experience overcoming your fears and these are the kinds of memories that I'll cherish forever. If you would like to experience it yourself, it's at Tan-awan Oslob, Cebu here in the Philippines!

Do you have an experience swimming with the whalesharks before? Write it down on the comment section below. Cheers! 😉

Sort:  

Wow!! sana makapag travel blog din soon!

it's really fun doing a travel blog. you should try it 😁

Do you have T.P. for my bunghole? I would hate for my bungholio to get polio.

Sana makapagtravel na ulit ako.. Kakamiss.. Pero soooon! 😊

pahinga din sis. deserve mo magbakasyon naman! haha ❤

jealous naman ako..sana mapuntahan ko rin iyang lugar na iyan someday

gawin mo syang reward mo sa sarili mo sis hehe!

You only lived ones. So, why limit yourself in spending something for travel? hehehe. I do want to travel more and thanks for reminding me that I should spend traveling sometimes.

correct sis. It wouldnt hurt to treat yourself once in a while. You deserve it for working hard and para din mareplenish yung spirit mo. hehe

Amazing adventure there..when will you comeback?

Kapag nalibot ko na ang pinas! hehe at pag marunong na akong magswimming lol

Masarap talaga mgtravel paminsan-minsan. Pro no experience swimming with the whalesharks.

I'm glad that I tried it. siguro pagsisisihan ko ngayon yun if hndi ako bumaba sa water hehe

I have not experienced that but maybe someday. :)

Were you not from cebu? Haha. ang dami kasi sa Steemit na tagaCebu. 😁

Hehehe I am from Metro Manila. :)

A wonderful experience for a traveller, planning to catch one and fry (joke) I mean will catch a promo plane ticket first to witness that creature before their extinction. Sad thing that they are now dependent for the feeding by humans and distort their natural routine.

yes thats the sad thing about it. they keep coming back here because of food. the only perks is that the community living there earn a living through this activity especially the boatmen

OMG SHARKS!!!! Uhmmmm......can I just swim without them? hehe...Awesome experience you got right there sis.....

You'll be afraid at first but you'll get amazed when you see them upclose. I promise. Haha

I've never seen the ocean, and I'm very happy for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62441.36
ETH 2940.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59