Manila Series 111 : "Bahay Kubo"

in #philippines6 years ago

One huge difference when growing up in the province to the city is the lifestyle. It can't be helped though that what we get accustomed to, we look for similar things wherever we go, because let's face it, they give us comfort. Bahay kubo now can be seen in some places, original or imitated. Nothing beats it when seeing an actual one in unusual places in the city. Can blame them for wanting something that reminds them of those innocent days, besides, under the heat of the sun, it's a great cool place in the backyard, and that haven't changed through time.

In the provinces, modern times have change the housing structures, replacing the old, cheap and functional materials for economical reasons. Concrete shelters obviously are sturdier and stronger against the elements where it's safer and more sustaining during monsoons and typhoons.

Throughout the Philippines, bahay kubos are still being built but for different reasons. Until recently...

34675493_10155289806815755_7224217635632709632_n.jpg

A modified bahay kubo covered with bougainvillea with a porch.

Building a bahay kubo

With the abundant bamboo and coconut trees in the country, for sure our ancestors did not have any problems in accessing materials for a house. Back then, building a bahay kubo probably was like assembling a tent.

Given the choice, bahay kubos as homes are built now according to individuals' preferences. Usually made of bamboo and coconut tree parts, a simple bahay kubo is just enough to give shelter. The roof is made of either coconut leaves or cogon grass. Enclosing it are inter-woven coconut leaves, and the floor is made of bamboo strips. As it is elevated a few feet off the ground, the steps are also made of bamboo.

The roof I can likened to those thatched-roof houses in England.

34562285_10155289896225755_4218413330764660736_n.jpg

Found these in Treasure Mountain campsite in Tanay, Rizal, Philippines.

Back to basics

We are in a changing time where the lifestyle of humanity is going back to how our ancestors have lived, not necessarily like the Neanderthals BUT back to basics. Coupled that with comfort, if can be afforded.

Why not?

There is a movement that is noticeably getting stronger. Just like people leaving the city for the mountains, tiny living, organic food, these things are telling us one thing. Going back to basics. The Philippines is in it and growing.

A lot of holiday resorts in the Philippines have these modified bahay kubos to offer whose specifications are under par to top resorts worldwide. For places that are easily accessible and cheap, they have this.

Care to join me? Whose bringing a bottle of wine?

26971869_10154970229350755_176271178_o-2.jpg

A modified bahay kubo by the beach.

Disclaimer: top photo by @flabbergast-art, all other photos are mine, taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7.

27787513_10155023947945755_1367018004_o.png

30124557_10155167979270755_6615470742286893056_o.jpg

Sort:  

Ever since I was little, it was my dream to have my own kubo—complete with a kitchen and toilet. I never see myself frustrating over a big house. This post of yours made me realized I'm a bloom minimalist and kubo lover.

I saw this resort in Bohol, it's like malakeng kubo with glass door, sala, of course me toilet. I think because of the materials used. Pagawa ka.

Naiimagine ko po yung description nyo. Hopefully ma-push ko yang kubo na yan. :)

Where ka ate? This is very much possible, with a great view and safe sa bagyo.

Antipolo po ang hometown ko. :)

Great! Make one overlooking Sierra Madre or Laguna de Bay. U only need some land.

Wow! I swear! I like it! Soon, I will show you my BAHAY KUBO made by bamboo sticks!

Tagal na nyan kuya!

You mean my bahay kubo? LOL
Actually 4 months old and until now ginagawa ko pa sya! Hahaha...

UU, sinabe mo na yan before eh. What's the expected date of completion nya lols?

Di ko alam eh? Ginagawa ko lang sya kapag meron ako time... LOL

I guess mas maganda na ganyan, wag rush. Relaxing pa and wala pressure.

Here we have bamboo hut all over the place.. they are made with bamboo and rice straw because of the people being very poor..thats what they can find to build a home..

Am sure in places where modernisation have not reach have those houses still in the Philippines. Free house with no mortgage to pay.

Thats the true freedom.isnt it??.... living where you want.. doing whatever you want..

What's stopping us to have that?

Bullshit soicial propaganda i think... Society has a tendency to bind us with various norms in the fear that if we decline society it may lose its authority...so we are constantly brain washed we have to do this and do that by our parents and elders.. we have to achieve success that they say.... but we always seem to forget that true freedom isnt success.. true freedom is the choices we make..

Now you can ask if i despise all this so much then why am i not leaving and making my own bahay kubo... i think the answer would be i am a coward.... the 23 years of my life that was used to raise me turned into one..

Do you wanna remain a coward? You now know what you want, do it.

I do not want to do anything ever that affiliates me with the word "coward".. But our country has a demographic that binds me to live in an extended family...from childhood we are built to take responsibilities... I will have to take care of my parents and my own family when i have one..that is carved into my morale.... Its a burden i have to carry for the rest of my life..

Looking after our parents is not a burden☺
Am sure you'll find a way.

Yep. I'll join you @immarojas and I'll happily bring a bottle of wine.

Those bahay kubos in the campsite look very inviting. Is the rest of the campsite as pretty?

Is that the place where you went to watch the sunrise? 😊

On a completely different note . . . are you on Discord? I wanted to contact you but couldn't find you there.

Yeah, that's where we went for the sunrise. You need a tent in there and the huts are for mealtime. Prepare the wine☺
Discord Lola.Imma#3544

Ha, ha, ha. Looks like you've blocked messages @immarojas and when I tried to send a friend request, Discord told me you'd hired a sammauri to slay all friend requests! 😂

Yeah am rich and have sammurais to protect me😅🤣😂 Dunno why it's like that Gillian. Any problem?

Nope. I have no problem with that @immarojas. Makes sense to me. 😂

Haha no I mean, what's up?

I wanted to ask you a favour @immarojas.

Would you vote for my photograph in the Qurator photo competition.

I've been nominated and, if I win, I'll get a nice upvote for 30 days.

You basically have to upvote my comment where I have pasted the link and picture of my rhododendrons. 1% is fine as it's the number of votes that count rather than the value.

Scroll down and find my comment here: https://steemit.com/qurator/@qurator/qurator-s-photo-friday-photography-competition-27

Thanks a bunch! 💛

Love those silvery pollens..they're called pollens right?

I miss our bhay kubo at bohol..but soon im going home!😊To visit my daughter and my grandparents.

Great, you'll be seeing it soon😁

Nothing beats the old. I am always in awe whenever I see bahay kubo kind of houses in the province. I always associate it with having simple and peaceful life. I remember when I was young, we used to go to my auntie's house just to see and experience their bahay kubo. It's big and you can really relax from there. They kept it despite having a concrete house. A bahay kubo for a bakasyunan place would be very ideal. Lovely photos ❤

Thanks Jie...i have seen a house using what materials being used sa bahay kubo by a Filipino architect. This was years ago though and I have forgotten who he is. Expenses were in millions as well para matibay too.

yeah.. I agree po.. kahit modernized na ngayon ang mundo.. hindi naman lahat ng lugar...meron pading mga lugar na mas pinipili ang ganitong buhay yung malayo sa kabihasnan..

Meron ka nyan??

dati po sa luma naming tirahan.. after mamatay ng father ko nung 2016.. nawala na lahat eh..

Patayo na lang ulet kuya ng kubo..un maganda ang view😍😍

The country is very beautiful in the Philippines, because of which you are writing on the Philippines country on the Philippines, a very beautiful country @immarojas

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99