My First Few Days in a Foreign Land

in #philippines6 years ago (edited)

It was on April 16, 2018 when I finally bid goodbye to my family, friends, and loved ones from the Philippines. My destination? Here in the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia. My heart was heavy after bidding goodbye. I want to cry my heart out and choose to stay instead, but it’s too late to turn my back.

These are my co-workers. This is the first photo that we took after arriving in Saudi. That’s me, the one in the front wearing black hijab. I look like an Arabian, don’t I? All of us are Christians but we are required to wear hijabs especially if we are roaming outside. Yes, we are all Filipinos, and we share the same dream to provide the needs of our family.

Upon our arrival, I had fun taking photos of the establishments here in Saudi. It seems like they have a uniform theme for the designs from the small stores down to the huge buildings.

Oh, I haven’t told you what I am here for, have I? I will be working as a hotel housekeeping crew together with my fellow Filipinos. We just finished our training last week and I am so glad I have passed it. Today, we will be starting our first job as a hotel employee. I just hope I will do things right.

I really miss my family right now. I wasn’t able to contact them last week since there’s no internet connection in the past pension house that we are staying. International texts and calls are also expensive so I have to wait until we get back to the hotel to connect with the internet.

Being far from my loved ones is very hard, but I am pretty sure I will get used to it. From time to time, I will be documenting my stay here in a foreign land until I get back home in two years. I really miss Philippines!

Sending my virtual hugs and kisses from the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia,

@jmaeunabs1

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by the communal account, @steemph.cebu by jmaeunabs1 being run at Teenvestors Cebu (Road to Financial Freedom Channel). This service is exclusive to Steemians following the Steemph.cebu trail at Steemauto. Thank you for following Steemph.cebu curation trail!

Don't forget to join Steem PH Discord Server, our Discord Server for Philippines.

Amping ka kanunay ate, mingaw nami nimo :'(

mingaw napud ko ninyo, kamo pud diha ding

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43