UNTOLD STORY: A Happy Single Mom

in #philippines6 years ago (edited)

I didn't plan being a single mom but you have to deal with the cards you are dealt the best way you can - Tichina Arnold

Today, I am sharing the biggest challenge that I've been through for the past eight years and how to handle the responsibilities of being a single mom at the age of 22. This story dedicated to all single mom who are still hiding from real world. Beyond that, the hardest part have been the emotional battles and realizations that had to face.
FB_IMG_1514820194018.jpg

At the first quarter of the year 2009 when my 4th year college of the Bachelor Degree of Civil Engineering, I had unexpected pregnancy. In the first place, I am not ready physically, financially and emotionally state. Too much expectations from the loved one pushed me to not tell anyone. Honestly I am desperate already that'swhy I did something which was against of a pregnant woman. I am person with full of dreams but what if the dreams you are aiming turns into fantasy. I decided to kept it until my womb was noticed by my sister. I received the acceptance and respect from my family except to my number supporter, my father. He hated me until he was mild heart attack in the middle of 2009. I was blame by so many and I really felt guilty to what I did.

Well, everything turns right when everybody give support and unconditionally love with me and my baby. Today, my father are in good conditions yet he can't walk straight like a normal person can do because of his left side body were numb. My daughter enrolled in a private school as a Grade 3 students. My top priority right now is my baby and my family to how I support them financially. I can't imagine myself on how I will survive that whirlwind in my life without my families and friends. For me it is a tough journey but need to be strong in every steps of the way. Please read the common problems encounter as a single mom.

Raising alone is very difficult
Being a mother is hard and it wasn't a subject I ever studied. Rubs Was

Then there is sinking guilt of raising my daughter without her father and exhausting of having to do it all. Being a single mom is pretty much as tough as its cracked up to be but, that doesn't mean I dont love it.
mtxx_album_take_photo_temp_mr1512292530230.jpg
me and my daughter
IMG20180101160657.jpg

When my daughter asks about his father

A very tough questions ( tougher than mathematics), I smiled at her and say positive things. Automatically told her the truth and reminded her that God is also his father since the beginning. I know this conversation will evolvef as the child grows older and more curious. This questions is normal as our child grow so plan ahead of time on how will you respond.

How to handle the criticism in the surroundings
The moment the baby born things dont get any better. There are forms to fill out, comments and judge mental from other people. Even the relatives see you as a broke woman because of single parenthood. How to cope this negativity? Being a positive person and the people unending support help me to ignore those painful words. Acceptance is the key in moving forward the things you didn't expect to happen. In God's time the people will fully understand the situation that I been through.

Dating and finding right guy
When you make decisions be considerate of your child feelings. Being a single mom it is hard to find true love. Why? Based on my experience and other stories told, men prefer to date single one because single mom are complicated. Is it right? Well, I still believe that everyone deserve to be happy and especially to all Single Mom. I can't wait for my happy endings and I know it's gonna happen soon. Who knows i can find here the right in @steemit. Heehe

Seeing all success stories and many more unfold before my eyes is proof that single parenthood is not only manageable, but an incredible gift that allow to shape the child into a powerful human brings. No matter what, you are always stronger than you think you are. You will be amazed at what you can do. Always on mind that Mom are almost superheroes because there are few things that others cannot do.

Thank you for your time reading my article of being a proud single mother.

I am grateful for all the support of my first travel blog https://steemit.com/steemph/@jonnahmatias1016/travel-blog-1-exploring-crocolandia-farm-in-cebu-philippines
To @karenmckersie for the up vote and resteemed.
@surpassingoogle @steemgigs who give time to upvote my post.

@smaeunabs, our financial adviser and mentor. To my officemates and steemians @nikkabomb @aljoursantillan @annejade.
To my newly found friends @caratzky @namranna and @jhon21 you guys are amazing

My first post in 2018. Happy New Year.

love lots,
jonnahmatias2016

Sort:  

I have always admire your strength @jonnahmatias! Keep it up.

You're daughter is very lucky to have you as her mother. Love you to bits. Mwaaahugs!

Thank you nikkabombshell este @nikkabomb for always there for me.For the love and support.

Of course! You were also there for me when I needed guidance when I started my career in Techno. Consiser this as my partial payment for being so patient with my "ambot" attitude. hahaha

That bombshell uy haha 😂

hahhaha.. though Im harsh sometimes niks. I need cash hahah.. you don't need to pay me , your friendship is enough @nikkabomb.

You are a strong woman @jonnahmatias1016. You deserve happiness and more love in life. Wish you well this year!

Yes everyone deserve to be happy. Thank you and cheers for 2018 @anmari.

You should pat yourself on the back!! You deserve all your child's love, and one day she will appreciate all the things you do <3

Will follow you <3 Should be heading to Phil in May, maybe we cross paths, and a big well done :)

Im willing to meet you heRe @dreamtrio2015. thanks for the compliments.baby is the blessings and the best gift that I receiveD.

I am so proud of you for having this courage to share your experiences as a single mom.

God bless you and your family ate! You have a very beautiful daughter!

Thank you Master Sheila for being the manager of all the inspiring steemians. Yes, my daughter is prettier than me.

I admire your courage and strength! Woah! such an amazing woman you are @jonnahmatias1016! Aja! Kayod lang besh!

hhha nalingaw kos kayod ba @namnarra hhaa.. Thank you thank you thank you cutie pie

Happy new year!

Same to you happy new year sir.

Hi @honnahmatias1016 , I just found you on the facebook group - and I'm excited to read your full hearted and honest stories on #steemit .

You have a little diamond there!

xx
Elena

can you emphasize the diamond? hehe just kidding. i will check my account in fb. My story encourage all moms and single mom as well to stay positive in life.

Wow! Amazing story... It deserve a resteem
@jonnahmatias2016
Thanks for upvoting my introduction; though there was a flaw in the tagged, so i did another introduction. Feel free to check it

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@eprolific/how-and-why-i-became-a-steemian-a-reintroduction-e578b39ae6a5a

Keep up the strength and determination.

Thanks to you. i will check then.

Good for you for sharing this @jonnahmattias1016 you sound like a strong genuine character and im sure experience has shown you that. Hopefully you are not carrying the guilt that you might have felt because you can not be held responsible for anyone else's place in life. I think we forget that truly the first person you have to love is yourself and im not talking about doing cat walks all day in the mirror lol but you don't need to accept any judgement from anyone avoid those people that put you down when you can and surround yourself with people that want to see you do well. Enjoy 2018 you and your daughter are going to be fine :)

I am so happy you take time to read my story. I will keep all yout advices sir. Everything is in the right place already. Thank you so muCh

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @jonnahmatias1016 to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61769.55
ETH 2910.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64